Skip to content

Options! I Need Options!

April 23, 2008


I’m at the gym tonight, plugging along on the elliptical machine, and I wonder, “I wonder how many people have different basal rate profiles?” (Hey, I never said my thoughts had any kind of logical order to them).

Anyway.

I know one of the most common arguments for certain pumps is the fact that there are multiple basal profiles – a profile for work, a profile for the weekend, a profile for That Time of the Month, a profile for different physical activity days (basketball in the morning, versus the gym at night).

And I thought to myself, I only have one!

Does this make me lame?

Do you have different basal rate profiles? What do you use them for? How did you figure out you even needed a different basal rate profile? Most of the time I just use a temp basal rate and then I go back to normal once I’m done. My blood sugars are all over the place that I haven’t been able to figure out if there are different trends for different days of the weeks.

12 Comments
  1. Sara permalink
    April 23, 2008 8:25 PM

    I have 8 (yes 8) different rates during the day, but I only use that one profile with temp rates as needed.

    I’m hoping that doesn’t make us lame!

  2. Sara permalink
    April 23, 2008 8:26 PM

    um, apparently the number eight followed by a closed parentheses is a sunglass face. who knew?!

  3. April 23, 2008 8:29 PM

    I have a different profile for work days, and another one for my clinical rotation days. Work days I’m moving around a lot more so I had consistant lows. Clinical days I have some adrenaline pumping, so I had stubborn highs. It was pretty obvious to me that I needed the different rates.

  4. Katie permalink
    April 23, 2008 8:51 PM

    i only have one. i do the same, just adjusting with a temp basal. i don’t exercise enough to have a special basal rate for it :p

  5. April 23, 2008 9:23 PM

    My schedule doesn’t vary too much and my trends are consistent, so I only have the one profile with 8 rates throughout the day. For those occasions that you mentioned, I know what temporary rates I need and I just do that.

  6. April 23, 2008 10:43 PM

    CWD had a poll on this a few months back. Most people polled had 3-4 basal rates, but those were parents answering for kids- adults may have different answers.

  7. April 23, 2008 10:51 PM

    I have a different profile for if I’m working out in the morning before work. Basically it tapers my basal in the a.m. so I wake up higher than usual.

    It’s handy because it basically forces me to work out in the morning when I set it the night before. That’s the only pattern that I have – I’m not fine-tuned enough for anything else!

  8. April 24, 2008 7:47 AM

    I have four.. on regular days. If I exercise, I’m usually 0.0 or I eat a ton of carbs.(messing with temp basals, not worth it in that case) Otherwise, I just roll with the punches and if I’m either really high or really low for several days in a row I’ll do temps.

  9. April 24, 2008 8:49 AM

    I am pumpless, and therefore very jealous of one basal rate! LOL

  10. April 24, 2008 9:12 AM

    Jonah: Rates are different than profiles. Your rate is just [amount]/[hour]. A profile is all your rates in one day. So I have 4 different rates, but I only have one profile. Some people have very obvious changes in how much insulin they need when they go from a workday to the weekend, and it’s easier to simply change the profile – thus changing all the rates – rather than changing the individual rates temporarily.

    Mandy: I think you mean your jealous of one basal profile. If you’re on Lantus, you already have one basal rate because Lantus doesn’t (typically) go up or down.

    Jill: I think I might try doing that exercise profile for the morning because I’d like to take a spinning class and I’m not sure how my blood sugars will handle it if I don’t have food in my system.

    Everyone else: Thank you for not making me feel lame!😀

  11. April 24, 2008 9:18 AM

    I have 6 different basal rates throughout the day. My work-week schedule doesn’t change much so I just manually change things if I need to. The weekends are a little tricky because those days are always different. So even if I were to set a basal rate for the weekend, I would have to tweak it everytime. It’s easier for me to just make adjustments manually for those two days.

    Good luck figuring out what you need to do.

  12. April 29, 2008 4:15 PM

    I have a basketball pattern and a normal pattern.

    During the winter months it gets complicated because I play twice on Wednesday, which messes up Thursday morning. So, then, I actually have normal, basketball, Wednesday, and Thursday.

    Cripes, that is complicated. But we gotta do what works right?

Comments are closed.