Skip to content

Out of Bounds.

April 22, 2008


I noticed something a few days after I started using the Wavesense Keynote glucose monitor.

It changes beeps when your blood sugar is high.

I’m not sure if it does this when I’m low, and I don’t know if any other meter does this either. I’ve never noticed it. But there is a distinctly different beep when my blood sugar is high.

The normal beep sounds like most meters… beep-beep-beep. But the high alarm has a lower pitch.

Almost as if it’s going dun-dun-duuuun. Or when a referee blows his whistle really loud when the ball goes out of bounds. The meter is screaming, “You’re out!”

It’s kinda quirky, and slightly annoying, which means I can’t figure out if I like it or not. I think because it has something to do with my blood sugar not being in range that I shouldn’t like it.

I finally downloaded the Zero-Click software too and uploaded my blood sugars to the program. I reprogrammed my mealtimes so that my lunch numbers and dinner numbers actually fall during the hours when I eat lunch and dinner, though the empty gaps seem to suggest I don’t test my blood sugar nearly as often as I do. Mostly I think it’s because I don’t test my blood sugar enough. I also discovered that while my 14-day blood sugar average is 157 mg/dl, my blood sugar is only in range about 47% of the time. Less than half. Which means that I’m out of bounds more than half the time. I’m a lousy player, I guess.

I have some pretty consistent times during the day when my blood sugar is great – mostly afternoons (though a couple of thwarted gym attempts make me think my basal might be too high) and always post-workout (now that I’ve learned to keep my pump on, I don’t get any of those nasty adrenaline spikes which plagued me for years and helped make my gym attendance non-existent). My mornings for awhile were great but now shwooop! up to the stratosphere they go. Can’t figure that one out.

Must be the basals. Always the basals. Or the bolus ratios. Or the moon.

5 Comments
  1. April 22, 2008 3:07 PM

    I didn’t know you were using the WaveSense meter. I really like it.

    Did you notice that the shapes of the strips makes it easier to aim for the blood and makes it impossible to put into the meter upside down. I really like that little design thought. I’m hoping to test their upcoming Jazz meter before too long.

  2. April 22, 2008 3:39 PM

    Bernard: Yes, our friend Albert hooked me up with one a couple weeks ago. I like it too. I don’t know if I love it or anything, I mean, anymore than any other glucose meter, but it’s pretty groovy so far. I forgot to put the link to my initial Keynote post, so you can go check that out now that I’ve added it.

  3. April 22, 2008 3:52 PM

    Allison, I received my trial from Albert at WaveSense in the mail today, so I need to try it out and let you know if I notice any difference in the beeps, whether these can be changed, etc. He’s looking for feedback, so if you do (or don’t) like the beep thing you noticed, I think that’s the stuff he wants to know about!

  4. April 22, 2008 11:47 PM

    I vote moon.

  5. April 23, 2008 8:13 AM

    We got one of these meters to try also. I haven’t used it much. I’ve had a couple of instances where I put the strip in and it didn’t work. I haven’t used it enough to notice the difference in the beeps. I’m not sure if that would annoy me or not. Riley uses a Freestyle Lite (he used the Flash before that) and it takes longer to get your results if your high. The higher you are the longer it takes to register. That used to bother me because if it took longer to get the results I would tense up because I knew it was high. But, I’ve gotten used to it now.

Comments are closed.