Skip to content

In Bloom.

April 21, 2008


After six months of cold temperatures and drizzly skies, this was the first weekend I spent in Manhattan where I wasn’t dashing from building to building, using the heat from a boutique to defrost my fingers.

Waking up at the ungodly hour of eight in the morning (well, ungodly for a weekend), I took the train into Manhattan for my workshop. I met another girl from Jersey there, so after the workshop, we decide to wander around the city.

Being that it was the first really warm day we have had in a good long while, we thought a stroll through Central Park would be perfect.

Now, I have a confession to make. Despite living here for almost a year, and despite having gone to Manhattan three other times before I moved here, I have never really been to Central Park. Now, I’ve seen it, of course, from a distance, either at the Museum of Natural History last March, or when I’m at Columbus Circle, or the time my mother and I went in when we were at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and immediately left after taking the requisite photo op.

Sadly, Saturday was truly the first time I had really seen Central Park in all it’s glory. The trees sprouting new leaves, the flowers blossoming, runners huffing and puffing down the path, families and Columbia college students in bikinis spread out on blankets, tourists in shorts and T-shirts, and Upper East Side mothers pushing their babies along in Graco strollers.

It’s true what they say about Central Park feeling like another world – almost, dare I say, suburban, or even farther than that. Like a state park. Except for the apartment buildings peaking up from behind the trees, you’d almost think you were in upstate New York and not in the middle of a metropolis.

We walked for miles – literally. Our workshop was at 40th and Broadway, we stopped for lunch at 46th and Ninth Avenue, strolled up past Lincoln Center and entered the park at 66th, meandered our way along the various paths – past the Great Lawn, the Jackie Kennedy Onassis reservoir, and beautiful cherry blossom trees that sprinkled the path like it was snowing – and finally came out at 101st Street. We went one block to Madison Avenue, stopped for Starbucks, and eventually caught the subway at 68th and Lexington. We knew it would take us at least another hour to get to Penn Station at 34th, and neither of us thought our feet would be very happy if we did that!

It was also nice seeing a part of Manhattan that I don’t have much reason to visit – the Upper East Side. The rumors are true and it’s completely packed with apartments and townhouses. We saw twelve-year-old meadering about, more children’s clothing stores than I thought was necessary, and there were the mothers again, pushing their babies in their little Graco strollers (well, I have no idea if they were really Graco strollers, I didn’t feel the need to go up and ask which stroller brands they used).

Hope you all enjoyed your weekend too!

Central Park and the City

The skyline of midtown Manhattan, reminding us it’s still there.

Swarms of people at Central Park

“You think we’re the only ones who thought about coming to the park today?” I joked. “You’d think the entire city thought the sun was going to go away for another six months!”

The Jackie Onassis Reservoir

The Jackie Kennedy Onassis Reservoir

Beautiful Cherry Blossoms

The world is finally in bloom again.

For more photos from Central Park, visit my Flickr gallery.

9 Comments
  1. April 21, 2008 1:59 PM

    What lovely pictures! The only time I ever walked through CP was in early winter. Amazing to see it in its springtime glory🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. April 21, 2008 2:52 PM

    I’m glad you got to really enjoy your day in the city. Great pictures!
    I’m thinking the strollers were probably more along the lines of Bugaboo though.

  3. Sara permalink
    April 21, 2008 3:11 PM

    Or those crazy Orbitz ones the celebrities have that are $900!!

    Great pictures btw!

  4. Gayle permalink
    April 21, 2008 4:38 PM

    Glad you got to experience Central Park! I love your new banner photo…it’s springalicious.

  5. April 21, 2008 4:44 PM

    Thanks everyone! Glad you like the pictures. It’s been a long time since I’ve taken pictures of the city, mostly because gray buildings against the backdrop of a gray sky is just a little too bland for my taste. Finally – color!

  6. April 22, 2008 3:39 PM

    Oh wow, I was in Central Park this saturday too, and in all the spots you posted pictures of. Fureaky.

  7. Clueless Cat permalink
    April 22, 2008 9:25 PM

    Great pics!!🙂 Can’t wait to explore Central Park more myself…

  8. April 24, 2008 2:32 PM

    Allison,
    I was laughing to myself reading your post. You see, I was born in NYC, but am from the Upper West Side. Now, I know many Upper East Siders, a lot of them are my family, and it would be very rare to see them pushing their babies around in strollers. That’s what you have nannies for🙂 They’re truly a different breed.

    Thanks for the great pictures of Central Park. I am again reminded how much I would love to move back there!

Trackbacks

  1. Lots of Lemonade « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.