Skip to content

What I Love to Love.

April 17, 2008

I love driving, because despite how horrible it is for the environment and my wallet, there’s nothing more satisfying than a long drive with good tunes turned up so loud that I can sing along and I don’t even notice how bad I am. I love going to a new place, getting lost and finding out much fun you can have when you have no idea what to expect. I love flying in airplanes. I love the way pillow clouds look like castles and imagining an entire world exists in the sky.

I love the when the clouds are lit on fire by the setting sun. I love the way the Manhattan skyline looks early in the morning, just before the sun rises over the skyscrapers – the dark gray contrasting with the bright yellow. I love people-watching at restaurants, parks and on the subway. I love when people ask me for directions because it makes me feel like I belong.

I love purple. I love the scent of Oregon after it rains and the crackling of campfires. I love Portland. I love diabetes camp. I love waking up to birds chirping outside my window, because that means it’s going to be a nice day. I love Rita’s water ice, especially in mango. I love sitting in Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia. I love movies that make you think and songs that remind you of someone.

I love blogging and bloggers and RSS Feeds. I love writing. I love doodling. I love giggling. I love meeting new people. I love people who know things that I don’t know. I love asking questions, which I suppose means I love being curious and consequently, I love being a little annoying. I love bookstores. I love Sudoku and word searches. I love sitting on the back porch of Espresso Roma of Eugene, Oregon on a warm May afternoon with a cup of coffee and a good book.

I love when my phone rings. I love Facebook and Twitter and when the little blue envelope icon lights up when I have new email. I love the ping when I have an instant message. I love sussys and hand-written letters and when my grandmother sends me a card with a $5 bill. I love comments on my blog.

I love history. I love antique stores, the smell of old books and when an eighty-year-old couple holds hands.

I love CO Bigelow’s flavored lipgloss. I love going to new restaurants. I love naan and tandoori chicken and curry. I love Trader Joe’s. I love coming home from work and watching reruns of sitcoms. I love sneaking in fast food into a movie theater. I love going to the movies by myself. I love a big bowl of popcorn. I love movie trailers. I love art galleries and amazing photographs and taking photographs that I’m proud of.

I love when the pieces of life fall perfectly into place. I love hugs. I love reunions. I love volunteering and the satisfaction of making the world a better place. I love hearing that I’ve helped someone.

I love life, and you too.

I love that there are so many things in this world worth loving.

Edit!: I spent so much time on this that I completely forgot the challenge part. I challenge you to make your own list or leave a love of yours in the comments. The only catch? You can’t include a single person you know on your list. No “I love the way my husband laughs” or “I love hearing my little girl call for me.” It’ll be tough, I know. But this particular little exercise is about stripping away everyone who defines you and figuring out what you (not his partner; not their mother/daughter/sister/friend) love. (This meme is stolen from Michelle and the City).

10 Comments
  1. April 17, 2008 4:47 PM

    oooh fun. i know what i’m doing this evening! list of loves. thanks for this activity!

  2. April 17, 2008 6:40 PM

    Beautiful! I love that now I have something to blog!

  3. April 17, 2008 7:24 PM

    I loved this idea so much I did it too!

  4. April 17, 2008 8:57 PM

    sudoku is so much fun, i can’t believe i forgot that one!
    thanks for the link🙂

  5. April 17, 2008 9:42 PM

    this is such a nice idea! i got here from ashley’s blog. i’m so inspired i’m writing up my own version right now.🙂

  6. April 17, 2008 10:07 PM

    I love sitting in the car with a waffle cone of black raspberry ice cream with the red sox game on the radio on a warm summer’s night!

  7. April 18, 2008 8:43 AM

    I’m glad you all liked the idea so much!🙂 It was nice reading all your different lists.

  8. April 18, 2008 7:35 PM

    Allison

    This is a great idea. There’s a lot of good stuff that you love. I don’t think my list would be as long or creative as yours, I’ll have to take a go at it.

  9. jim permalink
    April 29, 2008 2:57 PM

    I love lying in bed, half awake early on a summer morning with the window open, listening to the kids next door play in the yard and someone down the block cutting thier grass, and then having the breeze occaisionally riffle the curtains as the smell of fresh cut grass wafts in. I also love driving down dirt roads in my pickem up truck and going to places I have never been before. And Oreo Double Stuff Cookies. (I know, Iknow, they are bad but the heart loves what the heart loves)

  10. November 12, 2008 9:01 AM

    this contents give me an enthusiasm for life. that’s great.

Comments are closed.