Skip to content

The Little Games We Play

April 10, 2008

Yesterday afternoon I hit 100 mg/dl, my first such number in recent memory. I twittered if anyone wanted to give a dollar. But no one did.

I’ve told this story before. When I was a kid, on rare (and we’re talking rare) occasion, I would test my blood sugar and land at the “perfect” 100 mg/dl. It’s just so pretty looking! I mean, in all honestly it’s not any better for my body than a 92 mg/dl or a 104 mg/dl or even a 120 mg/dl, but for some reason, that 100 is like the frickin’ Holy Grail. So my dad was joking around one day and said he’d give me a dollar. You know, 100 cents, 100 mg/dl. Get it? He’s a clever guy. And we just kept up the habit. All the way through high school, whenever I was 100 mg/dl, I would announce, “Dad, you owe me a dollar!” I tried once or twice to convince him to give me two dollars when I was 200 mg/dl, but for some reason that never worked out.

It eventually stopped when I went off to college because, well, he wasn’t exactly going to transfer over $1 into my bank account.

It was these little thing, you know, that made growing up with diabetes a bit easier. Kind of like celebrating my anniversary. And going to the bakery at the hospital with my mom after a doctor’s appointment because we had three whole months to work off whatever damage the donut did to my blood sugars.

It almost made growing up with diabetes… fun. Almost.

8 Comments
  1. April 10, 2008 4:20 PM

    Well, now that we know the story behind it, you might be a bit more successful in getting a dollar the next time you’re 100 ;P

  2. April 10, 2008 4:45 PM

    Courtney: Touche. I asked in jest of course! I didn’t really expect anyone to give me a dollar even if they did know the story.

  3. April 10, 2008 5:40 PM

    It seems we are both owed a dollar, since I was 100md/dL around the same time yesterday.
    My mom still takes me for a “treat” after appointments!

  4. April 10, 2008 5:45 PM

    It’s so much fun to see that 100, isn’t it? Like there’s something magical about it. Congratulations on hitting that magic number! Cool!

  5. April 10, 2008 7:12 PM

    I like the give me $2 for 200 response!! If only, so many of us would be rich!

  6. April 10, 2008 7:32 PM

    I like that story about the dollar lol. I sent you an email yesterday 4/9 hope to hear from you soon.

  7. April 10, 2008 9:35 PM

    Awesome! I love it!

    I would try asking for a bunch of cash whenever my meter said “HI”! 🙂

  8. April 10, 2008 10:10 PM

    Aha! I must talk to my parents – they owe me SO much money! lol

Comments are closed.