Skip to content

Almost Spring.

April 8, 2008

I decided to splurge this afternoon and I went to Starbucks.

When I got there, I stood at the cash register, stared at the menu and went “Hmmm.”

“What are you looking for?” the barista (a boy) asked.

“I don’t know…”

“Hot or cold?”

“I don’t know…” Pause. “Usually I decide by the temperature outside but today it’s right in the middle where you could go either way.”

I decided on a Chai Frappuccino (yum!) and a low-fat Cinnamon Swirl cake (yumyum!) which I decided was an excellent choice.

It’s probably upper 50s right now, so it’s not exactly warm outside, but it’s also not the friggid 20 degree weather that I came to know and despise during my first East Coast winter. It’s sunny, giving the illusion that spring is here.

I used to know that it was spring in Oregon when it was sunny one day, then rained for three days, then was sunny for a day, then rained for another three days… If you’re wondering what winter is like in Oregon, it just rains. No sun. We’re like the CNN of rain. All rain, all the time.

In completely unrelated news, I watched the movie Once this weekend.

So, the story behind watching this movie is that for the past four or five weeks, I have been seeing this movie title everywhere. I first heard about it when Bernard recommended it to me during out Diabetes OC Movie and Book List challenge. Then I saw Kerri talk about it on Twitter, and I think Karen talked about it on Twitter.

And then people who I didn’t really know started talking about it on Twitter and mentioning it on their blog.

And I thought to myself, “OK! OK! I’ll watch it!”

It was too late to get it off Netflix, so I actually went to the brick-and-mortar Hollywood video to check it out on DVD. I curled up on my (red!) couch with a bowl of popcorn (yumyumyum!) and was thoroughly entertained for the hour and a half. It was really a delightful little movie that I understood perfectly thanks to a little thing called English subtitles. No really. Even in a movie that’s in English, you can put it on English subtitles. It really works wonders for my comprehension. I put closed captioning on television sometimes too, especially for shows with heavy dialogue like The West Wing. Makes my head spin. But I digress.

Anyway, I decided it’s like a musical but without the dancing and the songs actually fit in context. So I guess that means it’s absolutely nothing like a musical.

You should watch it. Let me know what you think.

10 Comments
  1. April 8, 2008 5:06 PM

    Ah! You must have been in Oregon for that spring 2 years back when it rained for something like 74 days straight!😉

    You are indeed correct, spring is in full swing in Oregon; sunny once every few days. The mud is here in abundance, but so are the blossoms. It is very pretty and green.

  2. April 8, 2008 6:45 PM

    Adam: I grew up in Oregon! Oregonian born and raised. I never left the state until last June when I moved to New Jersey, so I’ve experienced *all* the springs in Oregon.

  3. April 8, 2008 7:01 PM

    I didn’t like Once. I think I must be the only one because everyone else loved it. I thought it was rather boring. Maybe it’s one of those movies that I’ll have to give a second viewing before liking it.

  4. April 8, 2008 7:41 PM

    Stephanie: No, I totally know what you mean. During their first duet in the music store I was like “uh… this is kinda weird…” But once I was like, well, the music is actually pretty good and just sat back and enjoyed the music and their relationship (and you have to admit, they were adorable) then I actually liked it. Didn’t like the ending though… I always want the main characters to get together! I actually had a couple people tell me ahead of time that it wasn’t amazing, but it was a cute, so I think that helped my expectations.

  5. Sara permalink
    April 8, 2008 8:53 PM

    I watch every show/movie I can with captions too! Gilmore Girls got me in the habit and now I can’t stop!😀

  6. April 9, 2008 5:58 AM

    Sure and I can’t be believing that you were after needing de subtitles.

    Were you havin’ trouble with dose Irish accents?

    (And I use subtitles a lot, quiet dialog is hard to pick up).

    I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  7. April 9, 2008 8:44 AM

    Bernard: LOL. Actually, I turned it on almost immediately but after awhile I noticed that it wasn’t really all that hard to understand the characters, but it was still nice to have. Like you said, quiet dialog can be hard to pick up.

  8. April 9, 2008 10:44 AM

    subtitles and closed captioning are the best thing ever. i use them all the time.

    gonna have to see once.. i’ll be the first to admit i have a thing for an irish accent!🙂

  9. April 9, 2008 11:13 AM

    I’ve heard a lot about that movie and it’s on my list, but your review will help next time I place my net flix order. As far as subtitles, there’s this great little goofy Canadian indi movie called “Fancy Dancing.” The the main character’s best friend is Scottish, & every time he speaks, they use English subtitles to translate. Not only was it a great site gag, but it really did help to understand what he said!
    k2

  10. April 9, 2008 1:26 PM

    ONCE is one of my favorite movies of all time! Immediately after watching it in theatres I went and picked up the soundtrack. Then the DVD as soon as it was released! The fact that the actors wrote the music themselves is AMAZING! I guess I’m a bit biased toward these movies as a composer myself. =P

Comments are closed.