Skip to content

Delaware.

March 31, 2008

The only state within easy driving distance of where I live that I haven’t already been to is Delaware.

New Hampshire and Vermont are at least five hours away, if not longer. Ohio is about six. And I’ve been to every other state on the East Coast already.

Delaware is two hours from where I live. But I don’t know anything about Delaware and I don’t know anyone who lives there (thanks a lot, Hannah).

So I’ve decided I should go to Delaware sometime in the next couple of months in an attempt to cross off at least 1 state in my “go to 5 new states” challenge on my 101 Things in 1,001 Days Challenge (check out the list to see all my updates!).

What is there to do in Delaware? It doesn’t have to be a ton, I will probably only be going down for a day. Also, if there are any bloggers and/or readers who would like to meet me, let me know. I can’t promise a date right now, but if you have a particular weekend that works for you, drop me a line and let me know. We can arrange a “We-don’t-live-in-Delaware-but-we’re-here-now!” blogger meet-up of sorts.

Because that’s the way I roll.

8 Comments
  1. March 31, 2008 10:22 PM

    Delaware has some nice beaches on the border of Maryland…Rehoboth Beach comes to mind.

  2. April 1, 2008 7:48 AM

    In my head Delaware is just that weird place you drive through to get to Philadelphia. I’d say Reboboth Beach, Dover Down Slots, and outlet stores come to mind when I think of Delaware, so who the heck knows.

  3. April 1, 2008 8:50 AM

    Hi

    if you want to see Delaware to know something about it visit Winterthur,The Hagley Museum or the AI duPont mansion.All of these sites are connected to the duPont family
    that made the state what it is,for good or bad.The AI duPont Mansion is good because
    its also the home of the AI duPont Hospital for Children so you will see the wealth of the family and at the same time you can see the good the family has done for Delaware.
    Hagley is nice because you can do that in a few hours or less and Winterthur is the premiere site for American furniture and antiques on the east coast also an ex duPont mansion. There are plenty of places to eat and sleep on RT 202(Concord Pike) that is close to these sites and also connects to I95
    Ger

  4. April 1, 2008 9:14 AM

    One of my best friend’s has a beach house outside of Dewey, and it’s pretty cool. I like the vibe of little beach towns and Dewey and Rehobath seem pretty cool.

  5. April 1, 2008 10:48 AM

    I second Gerald’s ideas of visiting some of the DuPont-related mansions and museums, not only because they are interesting places (to which I didn’t go while I was in DE!) but because if you are only making a day trip out of this Delaware visit, they are in the northernmost parts of Delaware, and from the NYC area you can probably reach them in about 2 hours.

    On the other hand, if you’re not into checking out old houses, you might want something else to do. 😉

    Do you have any shopping to do? You should definitely go shopping because there won’t be sales tax on any of it!

    No matter what you’re thinking about doing, keep me posted. I can do that whole “unofficial tour guide” thing since I have lived there. I didn’t do much that was touristy while I was in Delaware…I guess because my main source of entertainment was my friends. 🙂

  6. April 1, 2008 8:52 PM

    Hmmm, makes me think of Wayne’s World…”Now we’re in Delaware!”

    Yes, absolutely hit the Dupont mansions and museums, Winterthur is really very beautiful.

    The beaches are nice as far as beaches go.

    If your a shopper, Delaware not only has lots of outlets, but there is NO SALES TAX! You might want to buy an ipod or flatscreen t.v. while your there😉

    Whatever you do, have fun!
    Kelly K

  7. Allison permalink*
    April 1, 2008 9:14 PM

    Yes, the sales tax is definitely appealing, although I already have both an iPod and a flatscreen tv… mostly what I buy are clothes and shoes, and there’s no sales tax on those things in both Jersey and NYC, so that’s never been an issue.

    I’ll have to make a list of other things I’d like to get, maybe books or some home decor type things.

    I miss the no sales tax. Oregon didn’t have sales tax either. I’m still not used to it.

Trackbacks

  1. Delaware is a Go. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.