Skip to content

I’m Famous! … Again! … Kind of!

March 4, 2008

Well, I’m not exactly on my deathbed today, but I still woke up with a sore ache and those body aches that come with having your body run over by the Fever Truck. Oy. I’ve managed to do a few hours of work fortunately, which means I’ll have less catch-up work to do tomorrow (assuming I’ll make it to work).

However, on the flip side, I’ve got some good news! I am in the spring issue of Better Homes and Garden’s quarterly publication Diabetic Living. It’s a pretty standard diabetes magazine. It has a three or four feature articles, a number of healthy recipes and a spread of profiles of people with diabetes. In this issue, I’m one of them!

On Newstands Now (D365 - 3/1/08)

This isn’t the first time I’ve been in a magazine, but luckily my media appearances have been few and far between enough that I still get a little thrill out of seeing my name in print, whether I’ve written the article or not. Another first is the fact that this is the only magazine I’ve been in that is actually on newsstands where, you know, normal people look for magazines. It’s a quarterly magazine, so it’ll be around for awhile, so there’s no need to rush out but I bought my copy at a local Stop & Shop and I also saw some copies at the Borders at Columbus Circle in the city, so I’m guessing they are sold pretty much everywhere.

And on a completely unrelated note, I’m moderating the chat with Dr. Bill Polonsky (the “diabetes burnout” guy) tomorrow night on Diabetes Talkfest at 9pm EST/6pm PST. Please join! It’ll be a great time and you’ll learn a lot. I’ve interviewed Bill a couple of times and he always has some very insightful things to say.

Hope to see you there!

5 Comments
  1. March 4, 2008 5:25 PM

    OMG yes! I saw that and totally freaked out! *squee*

  2. talesofmy30s permalink
    March 4, 2008 9:17 PM

    *keeps mouth shut*

    (*smooch*)

  3. March 4, 2008 9:43 PM

    Congratulations, Allison. That is so cool. I’ll have to go out and get a copy.

  4. March 6, 2008 2:00 PM

    Very cool! Also glad to hear that the Fever Truck is heading off to the horizon and not zooming full speed at you!

  5. March 10, 2008 11:37 AM

    Congrats, Allison! I’m working on a story for that pub right now, so I’m glad for your vote of confidence.

    Best,
    AmyT

Comments are closed.