Skip to content

Sick Day

March 3, 2008

Yesterday was a filled with diabetes-related activities. In the morning, I attended a JDRF Research Seminar hosted by my local JDRF chapter, with JDRF International Board member John Brady as our guest speaker. The seminar was fairly basic, and mostly covered the “why” of the research rather than the “what” of the research. I didn’t hear much new, but there was a one new announcement about a computer program that helps with mathematical calculations for the artificial pancreas. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the name of the program so I’m having trouble Googling for articles so I’ll post something later this week once I can get more information.

Afterwards, I drove into Manhattan to meet up with some other type 1 diabetics. I actually got there a couple hours early so I parked my car a couple blocks from Columbia University and meandered around campus and then walked down Broadway to 72nd Street. It was a nice, sunny day, though pretty windy and still a bit chilly. I had dinner with the group and then took the subway back to Columbia.

It was very cold out and my throat was a bit irritated, which I attributed to breathing in so much of the cold air. As I drove home it started to hurt a little bit more, but I figured I just need to warm up and maybe drink something. When I got home, I was still freezing and I curled up on my couch with my coat still on. It didn’t take long before I figured out that I was coming down with a fever, and that the sore throat and head ache were not from spending so much time outside.

When I woke up, I still had a fever, though it had switched from the initial body-shivering fever to the hot-and-gross fever. I threw on some jeans, which irritated my skin (one of my fever symptoms is sensitive skin), and drove to CVS to pick up some Vitamin Water because I didn’t have any more soda or water in my fridge. Pretty much the only time I wish I had a roommate and/or lived closer to my parents is when I’m sick and don’t have the energy to take care of myself. When I was home over Christmas vacation, I had another of these 24 hours fevers and it was so nice to have my parents and my brother around to bring aspirin and chocolate milk. Anyway, I spent the rest of the afternoon lounging around on my couch, watching reruns of Gilmore Girls and Sister, Sister in between hour long naps.

The fever seems to have broken so I’ll be back at work tomorrow. Still feeling a bit sluggish and I get worn out just walking around my apartment. My blood sugars popped up into the 300s midday, but mostly hovered in the mid-240s. I’m now 111 mg/dl so I think it’s safe to say I’m definitely on the mend. Being sick always shoots my blood sugar into the stratosphere, partly from the stress and partly from sitting around for hours on end. Of course, this sudden illness means that I didn’t go to Weight Watchers tonight, not that it would have mattered because I definitely didn’t lose any weight this week.

Hopefully I’ll see more progress next week because this week I’m certainly not a picture of good health.

4 Comments
  1. March 3, 2008 9:17 PM

    As a parent, I hate it when my sons are sick and I’m far, far away. It’s always tempting to fly out immediately and take care of everything. Like you though, they take care of themselves and eventually call me to say they’re ok. Hope you’re feeling much, much better!

  2. March 3, 2008 11:27 PM

    There’s nothing worse than having to take care of yourself when you are sick. If I lived closer we could be sick-buddies…and run those stupid errands for one another.

    Boo. I hope that you feel better.

  3. March 4, 2008 11:10 AM

    Major suckage A. I hope you’re feeling better and full of energy again very soon.

  4. March 4, 2008 4:14 PM

    Oh no, a sick Allison is not a good thing. I hope you’re feeling better soon!

Comments are closed.