Skip to content

Proof in Pictures

February 26, 2008

Last week, I attended the book launch party for Robert Rummel-Hudson’s new book Schuyler’s Monster.

I arrived in the city forty-five minutes before I needed to be at work. There is a Borders right above Penn Station and amazingly enough, it was already open. I decided to check to see if they had a copy of the book. It wasn’t in the biography and memoir section at the front of the store like I suspected, so I searched for it in the database and saw that it was in the Parenting section. I went upstairs and after a few minutes found the Parenting section (it wasn’t clearly labeled in the store so it took a few minutes of wandering). Excited, I snapped a couple of pictures before grabbing my copy.

Schuyler's Monster

After I purchased the book, I saw one of the employees (perhaps a manager?) waiting at the end of the counter.

She motioned to me and I stopped to talk to her.

“I saw that you were taking some pictures upstairs,” she said. Uh oh. “Could you tell me a little bit about that?”

“My friend… wrote this book,” I explained, taking Schuyler’s Monster out of the bag. “I’m going to the book party tonight and I wanted to show him a picture of it being at the Penn Station Borders. I’m just really excited.”

“Oh, okay,” she said, hesitantly. “We don’t normally allow photography.”

“I know, I should have asked,” I replied. “I didn’t even think about it.”

“Well, good luck to your friend,” the woman said.

Whew. Dodged that bullet.

After work, I took the subway down to Dip, a trendy bar somewhere down on the Lower East Side. It was incredibly dark and a bit loud, so it wasn’t the most conducive to conversation. There were quite a few people who showed up solo, so it didn’t take long before I was chatting with my fellow Rob fans. Kerri also showed up with a friend. It was great seeing her again.

Rob and I eventually got to talking and he signed by book which I had purchased that morning. The party wound down around 9:30 and Rob, his friend Jennifer and I walked back to his hotel but we all agreed it was time for some food. None of us had eaten anything at the party because we were talking so much and missed all the food. We stumbled upon a 24 hour diner on Lexington Avenue but I think I’ll leave that off my list of NYC restaurants. It’s not really a place I recommend going unless you’re on 39th and Lexington and dying of starvation. Or having a low blood sugar.

Before I left to catch the train back home, Jennifer snapped a quick picture.

Encounters (D365 - Day 25 - 2/20/08)

On Sunday, I took the train back to NYC to have dinner with Gayle and attend the concert that Lori sent me tickets for. We saw the Magnetic Fields, a band Gayle was a huge fan of but who I had never heard of. Before the show, we snapped some pictures in the ladies lounge.

Pretty Ladies (D365 - Day 29 - 2/24/08)

Edited by Carey’s request: I didn’t have much of an idea what to expect from the concert, but I liked it. They played quite a few songs from their new album, Distortion, except the songs were all acoustic, which Gayle pointed out is very different from how the album sounds (mostly electronic – hence the name “distortion”). The lyrics are quite funny though very cynical about love, although I made the comment to Gayle that it seemed like the music itself didn’t have much variation to it. It was good, but to my ear it didn’t vary as much as I expected between songs. The pianist (a lady) and the lead singer (a guy) also had a great rapport.

Want to see more pictures from the last week? Check out my Diabetes 365 photo gallery.

One Comment
  1. Carey permalink
    February 27, 2008 7:58 AM

    Hi. Sounds like a fun time. I’m curious to know how Magnetic Fields were. I like them.

Comments are closed.