Skip to content

What You Can’t See

February 18, 2008

Tonight was another exciting evening at Weight Watchers.

Loss this week: 2.2 lbs.

Loss total: 5.2 lbs.

Our WW leader gave me a Bravo bookmark with a star on it for achieving the 5 pound goal. I am happy that I’ve reached 5 pounds and this also means I’ve left the 190s and I’m now in the 180s, which is definitely progress.

The strange thing is that I don’t really feel 5 pounds lighter. Maybe it’s because 5 pounds just isn’t enough to feel a difference, but I feel exactly the same as when I started. I wonder if that’s why it’s hard for people to stay motivated when losing weight. If you don’t feel like you’re making a difference, even when you are told that you are, do you really feel as motivated as when you make a giant leap.

I started thinking about this in terms of diabetes too. Sometimes it’s hard for me to want to get into really tight control because I don’t feel much of a difference between a 105 mg/dl and a 155 mg/dl, even though I know my blood vessels can tell the difference, over time, with all that added sugar. A blood sugar of 305 mg/dl is definitely noticeable, which is one of the many reasons I try to take care of myself as best as I can, so I can avoid the queasy, dry-mouth reaction I get to a high blood sugar. If my body reacted more poorly to a 155 mg/dl, maybe I would be more inclined to avoid them. I hear that the tighter control you have, the more noticeable highs are. I’ve definitely noticed that since I’ve started Weight Watchers and had a more consistent trend of lower blood sugars, a 250 mg/dl has much different physical reaction than it did six months ago when I wouldn’t have noticed unless I tested.

Anyway, just thinking out loud. Maybe once I lose another 10 or 20 pounds there will be a more noticeable difference, and maybe once my A1C goes into the 6s, I’ll be able to feel high blood sugars even more.

Then again, maybe I won’t.

10 Comments
  1. February 18, 2008 10:55 PM

    Congrats!

    5 lbs is progress baby!!

    What’s your ultimate goal?

  2. February 19, 2008 12:01 AM

    Congrats!

  3. February 19, 2008 9:30 AM

    Congratulations on the 5lb loss! Every bit lost is something to celebrate. Keep up the progress!

  4. February 19, 2008 9:55 AM

    Yay congrats on the loss. Now to the bloodsugar. It will happen, for me lately if I start pushing towards 180 I feel the whole headache dry mouth thing. It just all takes time.

  5. February 19, 2008 10:19 AM

    Way to go AB!

    I think what you said makes total sense both for BG’s and any other long term goal. It’s hard to keep fighting when you can’t feel/see any difference.

  6. February 19, 2008 3:31 PM

    Congrats on the 5 lbs.
    I’ve lost about 10 lbs and don’t feel it at all, but I know that they say the 10% mark is key. I’ve got another 10 to go before I reach that…

  7. Allison permalink*
    February 19, 2008 4:03 PM

    Mike: My ultimate goal is to get down to around 150-155 lbs. I haven’t been that low since I was in middle school, and of course, I was much shorter than too, so I have basically been in the same height/weight percentage bracket my whole life.

    Amylia: My 10% is 171 lbs, so I have 14 lbs. to go.

    Everyone else: Thanks!!

  8. February 19, 2008 4:28 PM

    if “feeling/noticing it more” is something you want, maybe you should add more exercise, especially weights or some other muscle-building thing to your routine? i find that body composition makes me feel different waayyy more than my actual weight on a scale. (also lotsa exercise just makes me feel good in so many different ways – mental, blood sugars, physical otherwise, self esteem/badass-ness, etc.)

    i had kind of an opposite experience as you – i lost very little weight and felt like it was more (and it’s not because i’m small and it was a bigger percentage of my body weight, i’m a very similar weight to you). when my dr. saw me she said wow you’ve lost weight!! i said, not really, and she didn’t believe me until i stepped on the scale and it was one pound. i was biking a lot and started doing more weight lifting than i had been before.

    your ultimate goal is such a change (i guess i just can’t imagine losing that much… I’m not trying to, but still)… give yourself plenty of time and keep being nice to yourself!

  9. Randee permalink
    February 19, 2008 10:09 PM

    Congratulations! I’ve noticed that as my control has gotten tighter in the last year or so that I definately notice when my BS is slighlty higher [ie I have typical high symptoms when I’m at 10.0 now (normal being 4-6 in Canada)], I guess that’s the good and bad thing about the tighter control.
    Good luck as you move forward!

  10. February 20, 2008 7:25 PM

    Hey, 5 pounds is 5 pounds! Congratulations!

    It is so hard to lose weight & maintain good BG control. I think it moves a little slower for those of us with diabetes. But we can do it! We just have to hang in there.

Comments are closed.