Skip to content

Valentine’s Day for the Single Girl

February 14, 2008

As someone who has never had a boyfriend, Valentine’s Day has never been too terribly important to me. I usually am not too depressed during the day, mostly because after so many Valentine’s Day I am rather used to not getting anything from a boyfriend or a secret admirer. In fact, now at the wise age of 22, I have experienced enough Valentine’s Days and have heard enough of my friends and co-workers bemoaning the day to know that even people in relationships don’t particularly like the day simply because it’s forced and extraordinarily commercialized.

This year was no different. I arrived at work, turned on my computer and began the process of weeding through RSS feeds and email.

About an hour into work, I caught a glimpse of one of the office managers, out of the corner of my eye (I actually face away from the entrance to my cubicle). He was holding a vase with a rather large bouquet of various pink flowers.

“Thanks…” I said, rather shell-shocked, as he set down the vase on my desk. Flowers? Pour moi?

Of course, there was a card. I opened it up and slide out a note that simply said:

Valentine's Day Note
Yes, my parents rule.

I figured my parents would want to see the bouquet that arrived, so I snapped a few pictures of the flowers.

Close-Up Flowers

The bouquet even came with a balloon! After I took the picture, I uploaded them to Flickr, sent a thank-you email to my parents with a promise to call tonight and I went about my day as usual.

Just after lunch, I came back to my desk and noticed the red light on my phone was on indicating I had a message. Assuming it was work-related, I was quite surprised when I heard this voice:

“Hi Allison! It’s Lori…” It was Lori Rode calling to wish me a happy Valentine’s Day and check to see if I had received her Valentine’s Day care package.

You see, last year, Lori started a little tradition of sending me Valentine’s Day presents because despite being single I am, according to her, lovable and also because Lori is the greatest human being on the planet. We have been discussing over the past few weeks what she should send me for Valentine’s Day so this wasn’t exactly a sussy since I definitely knew it was coming and even had some idea of what would be in it.

Unfortunately, the care package still hadn’t arrived by 2pm when I heard her message, so I was a little nervous I wasn’t going to get it before the end of the day. I went about my day knowing that if I was going to get something, it would be delivered to my desk, so I crossed my fingers and got back to work.

Just after 4pm, the same office manager arrived at my desk yet again with a package (I’m sure he was wondering who the heck I was and why I was so important to receive two gifts on Valentine’s Day, but whatever). Of course, I knew exactly who this was from without even looking at the return address.

I ripped open the box and examined the wonderful contents of the box (which was also decorated on the inside with stickers – I tried to take a picture but it was simply a bad angle so you’ll have to take my word for it).

My Valentine (D365 - Day 19 - 2/14/08)

Inside there was a dating book written by a matchmaker (hopefully this will help me end this trend of solo Valentine’s Days… not that I’m complaining!), a knit hat made by Lori, chocolate!, some gum, a pack of bandages and a whole pile of tootsie rolls (which I have, unfortunately, consumed a lot of already…).

I decided it would be fun to flip through this dating book for a few minutes while I chewed on tootsie rolls. As I thumbed through it, I stumbled upon a page that had yet another surprise:

Surprise!

Now, unfortunately, I have never heard of the Magnetic Fields so I googled their name and came across this article in yesterday’s Hartford Courant. They sound pretty interesting! I e-mailed my friend Gayle (the same one from the anniversary dinner) and asked her if she wanted to come with me. Turns out, she’s a huge fan! Whew, what a relief.

So, that was my Valetine’s Day. Pretty sweet, if you ask me.

Thanks Mom & Dad and Lori!

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

8 Comments
  1. February 14, 2008 6:13 PM

    Cool! Your parents, and Lori, rock!

  2. February 14, 2008 6:47 PM

    Great V-Day! I’m glad you had a good day. Care packages from friends are the best.

  3. February 14, 2008 8:33 PM

    The flowers are so beautiful. Your parents rock & so does Lori! What a nice day!

  4. February 14, 2008 9:18 PM

    Wow! What an awesome day!

  5. February 15, 2008 1:15 PM

    Dood! What a great Valentine’s Day! Those flowers are beautiful and what a nice gift from Lori.

  6. February 15, 2008 1:29 PM

    OK CHICKLET –

    Sounds like a ROCKIN good V-Day 2 me! If you were to hook up your day to a CGM, your numbers would have been through the roof!

    Screw Hallmark Holidays – it’s the people who show their love for you 365 that really count.

    k2

  7. Allison permalink*
    February 15, 2008 1:59 PM

    Kelly: Haha. I didn’t need a CGM to know my numbers went through the roof. My glucose meter was quite adept at letting me know – as was waking up at 6 a.m. to pee and take 9 units of insulin to slowly climb back down. Ugh. My body isn’t used to that much raw sugar anymore!

    Everyone else: Thanks! My parents and Lori do rock pretty hard.😀

  8. February 18, 2008 1:52 AM

    Hooray! I’m glad you got the message, and the package. I can’t wait to hear how the concert was. The Magnetic Fields sounds like a cool concert, although I hear the lead singer doesn’t always enjoy live performances and specifically, doesn’t always respond well to applause.

    PS. I think I’ve eaten the remaining half of the package of Tootsie Rolls, no good for my numbers either. Your V-Day Pal, Lori

Comments are closed.