Skip to content

The DOC Movie and Book List

February 12, 2008

For the past hour and a half, I have been working on the list of recommendations for books and movies that quite a few of my fellow bloggers and readers suggested a few weeks ago. Amy asked me to compile it as a full list, so I finally got around to do that tonight. You can view the entire list of movies and books that the OC recommended to me by clicking on the link above.
I listed the movies by category and linked them to their IMDB page so you can get more information. I also listed all the books, but I didn’t do it by category because, well, that would have taken frickin’ forever.  I also linked them to their page on Amazon.

Yes, that’s a lot of links.

Yes, that took a lot of time.

And yes, I better see a hell of a lot of outclicks coming from the page in the next few days, okay?

I also didn’t bother to list who recommended what because I figured that would have just made things more cluttered. Instead, I linked to the two posts where people posted their suggestions, so if you’re wondering who recommended what, well, you know how hyperlinks work.

I’m more than happy to keep updating the page with more suggestions, so shoot me an email or just leave a comment and I’ll keep updating the page. Oh, and I also included a little comment if I have already read or seen the movie as a kind of mini review.

Hope you find them helpful!

6 Comments
  1. February 13, 2008 9:03 AM

    Allison,

    Nicely done!

    I finished reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak last night (highly recommend, btw) and was looking for something else to read…

    Your list came just in time.🙂

  2. February 13, 2008 10:20 AM

    Well it looks like although you have seen/read some of the movies/books, there are still a lot of viable options. I’m sure you’re goals will be met in no time and with ease.
    I probably would have done the same tedious work to organize that list just right. You’re the best!

  3. February 13, 2008 11:06 AM

    I have a stupid question…

    I’ve been reading Lemonade Life for a few weeks now, and I still don’t know what The O.C. is.

    Is this something sitting right in front of my face that I’m too dumb to figure out? Does it stand for Orange County?!?!

    Can Allison or somebody add some clarity?

  4. Allison permalink*
    February 13, 2008 11:49 AM

    Gawd, Mike, what a stupid… haha, psych!

    It’s not a stupid question actually, and it’s one we get a lot. “O.C.” stands for Online Community and we’re also sometimes referred to as the DOC or “Diabetes Online Community.”

  5. February 13, 2008 9:12 PM

    Wow! That took a lot of work. And it’s so well-organized. Bravo! You did a great job on this list.

  6. February 15, 2008 3:38 AM

    Gotcha. Thanks.

Comments are closed.