Skip to content

Only 95 to go…

February 10, 2008

I just finished watching the German drama The Lives of Others. Excellent movie with fantastic acting. It’s the second movie in the past month that has been about the events of a foreign country around the time that I was born – the first being Charlie Wilson’s War which takes place in 1988, just 3 years after I was born, and this movie takes place in East Germany in winter and early spring of 1985, just a few months before I was born. Obviously I don’t remember anything about the state of the world during that time, considering I either was not around or simply too young for it to matter. But I also never learned about any of this school because it always seemed like history focused on the Revolutionary War up through the Vietnam War and then just stopped. It’s like the eighties never even happened, which is probably why, despite the fact it was when I was born, I feel the most disconnected from that time.

I also updated my 1,001 movies page with the snapshot reviews of Amelie and The Lives of Others. They are very brief as I don’t really have the time or desire to dissect and review a movie, but I wanted a way to catelogue the movies I saw and whether or not I liked them and would recommend them to others. So go check out my movies so far. Just click on the 101 Things tab at the top of the page, and then scroll down to the Entertainment section. You can also see my updated lists of my 101 books (though I’ve only read one book so far this year – bad, lazy Allison) and my NYC restaurant-a-month challenge.

Amy asked me a few weeks ago to post an updated list of books and movies that were recommended to me, so I should probably do that sometime soon! I’ll add that to my list… So far, I’ve crossed laundry and the dishes off my list this weekend. Hurrah! Progress!

Okay, it’s after one in the morning and I have my meet-up group lunch at 1pm tomorrow so I should hit the sack. Cheers!

Edit (11:00 a.m.): Bernard emailed me this morning and told me that in my sleep-deprived stupor of posting at 1:30 in the morning I did the math wrong on a couple of things in the post, which I’ve fixed (the title and the name of the tab).

Okay, he didn’t say sleep-deprived stupor, but that was the idea. Anyway, all is fixed, except Headlines is going to be off since that doesn’t change after an edit. Oh well…

One Comment
  1. February 11, 2008 6:28 PM

    Ooh, that one’s even better in German. Glad you liked it. And I’m waiting for that list.
    🙂 AmyT

Comments are closed.