Skip to content

Midnight Recap

February 9, 2008

I cannot believe I haven’t posted since Monday. Honestly, it doesn’t feel like that many days have gone by but I was actually on my blog today grabbing a link and I saw that my last post was on the 4th! Heavens! One of my many challenge goals was to start posting everyday or almost everyday, but it doesn’t seem like that’s been happening all too often lately.

Among the many things I’ve been doing this week was a trip to Manhattan for the day on Wednesday. Of course, I was working for most of it, though I did manage to snap a few pictures to recap the day.

I start out the day waking up a full hour and a half before I usually wake up, so I groggily shower and dress before grabbing my bag and driving the quarter of a mile to the train station. It’s a thirty-five minute train ride to Penn Station, followed by a five minute walk to the subway station followed by another five minute ride to Rockefeller Center. Timing is never perfect with public transportation and on this particular morning I arrived twenty minutes before our Manhattan office opened. Whenever I work in the city, I always get my breakfast at Pret A Manger, which makes delicious bowls of granola, yogurt and fruit preserves (this particular morning I had mine with blueberries). I added a mango tea to the menu and it’s a healthy yet yummy breakfast. I finished about five minutes before nine o’clock.

Yummy!

Before I head up to the office, I take a couple more pictures of my surroundings:

Avenue of the Americas
Sixth Avenue, looking uptown – that’s Radio City Music Hall on the right

News Corp Building
The News Corporation Building, which is directly across from my office building
The morning was filled with emails and some blogging pitching followed by lots of research. Finally, around 11:30, I scurried out of the office and headed downtown for my lunch meeting which was the entire reason I was working in the city that day.
However, this wasn’t your typical work meeting. My meeting was about a new blogger project I’m working on with the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, so I arrived at Fraunces Tavern and was greeted by some folks from the national office along with Gina Capone, who was there to give her feedback on how JDRF interacts with adults with type 1 diabetes (more details about the project coming soon, I promise!).
Of course, being the shutterbug that I am and keeping the Diabetes 365 project in the back of my mind, I asked one of the staff to snap a picture of Gina and I before we headed back to our respective offices:

Happy Bloggers (D365 - Day 10 - 2/6/08)

After lunch, I hopped on the subway and headed back uptown to finish my afternoon at work. When I left work, it was unseasonably warm out so I decided to stroll down Sixth Avenue towards Penn Station.

On my way, I stumbled on some ridiculously well-dressed and well-groomed fashionistas outside of the Mercedes Benz Fashion Week at Bryant Park. Although the lighting was terrible, I snapped a quick picture as memento. This is probably the closest I will ever get to Fashion Week, and it was certainly an experience looking at so many high-fashion journalists, fashion gurus and socialites all in one place. I didn’t recognize anyone, but there were also throngs of people and it was very dark, so I very well could have been standing near someone famous. I wanted to avoid having my feet smashed by four-inch heels, so I crossed the street before taking a picture

Mercedes Benz Fashion Show test

Once I passed by the Fashion Week extravaganza (which is actually held all over Manhattan, I believe), I continued walking along Sixth Avenue, people-watching and window-shopping. These are my two favorite pastimes when I’m in the city. I find it fascinating how you can find such diverse people within such a small area of space. Not everyone is dressed up to the nines, as I could tell from the girl wearing a black fleece, ankle-length jean skirt and sneakers. I do find it fascinating watching people and how they put outfits together. I think that’s why I’m so fascinated by shows like What Not To Wear because there are so many ways to put together a look. There are so many options that you can choose from, which I think for some people is very attractive because oftentimes we don’t have nearly as many options in our day-to-day life. The way you dress is one of the few things you have full control over. Might be why people get so addicted to shopping.

Anyway, that was another adventure of mine in the city that I wanted to share. Now it’s 12:30 a.m. so I should probably crawl into bed. I have so much I need to accomplish this weekend, including cleaning my disastrous apartment (considering I’m hardly here during the week it’s amazing how much it falls apart from weekend to weekend!), return a pair of pants, do a bit of grocery shopping, starting a new freelance project, finish another freelance project, update the Directory (maybe… I’ve been saying that for months and it still hasn’t happened), laundry and call my parents and my best friend and go to an Ethiopian restaurant on Sunday with the New Jersey restaurant group I was telling you all about last month.

Wish me luck getting everything done!

4 Comments
  1. February 9, 2008 2:12 AM

    That breakfast sounds yummy.

    And how cool to get to hang with Gina!

  2. February 9, 2008 8:44 AM

    Fashion week. I swear, I’d be banned for bad taste. But it would be kind of cool to go to anyway.
    I am intrested to hear more about the JDRF and adults.
    And I’ll have to remember to try the Pret A Manger next time I come to New York. It sounds yummy!

  3. February 9, 2008 12:07 PM

    Sounds like new York was fun.. and that breakfast sounds delicious! have a good weekend!! (i’m sure you’ll get everything done)

  4. February 9, 2008 12:51 PM

    You are such a busy person. I don’t know how you have time to blog at all! Thanks for sharing your experiences. Very cool!

Comments are closed.