Skip to content

Fabulous Destiny

February 1, 2008

Last week I signed up for Netflix, which I have a feeling may be a revolutionary move for me. There are so many movies that I haven’t seen (and I have quite a list of suggestions courtesy of my wonderful friends and readers!) and I am sure I’m going to learn a lot from them.

I just finished watching the movie Amelie for the first time. Even though the movie came out almost seven years ago, I never got around to seeing it. When I was in college, one of my best friends loved the movie and we always planned on watching it together, but for some reason, it just never happened.

Watching Amelie was an interesting experience, I suppose, to put it lightly. I certainly liked it very much, and I had been told (or perhaps warned) that it has rather eccentric characters and a quirky style.

Despite the obvious stark difference between Amelie’s life and my own, throughout the movie I actually started feeling a connection growing between myself and her. I have had these moment before while watching movies, moments that catch me off-guard and I contemplate pausing the movie when my mind starts to wander, these moments where I’m watching a character living in a completely different city with a completely different lifestyle coming from a completely different childhood but I can’t get rid of this pit of my stomach that I am just like her.

Throughout the movie, Amelie struggles to find the courage to approach the person she cares about the most, while casually meddling in the lives of co-workers and complete strangers. I feel like most people are either completely comfortable in approaching people and making friends, they are absolutely terrified about making friends but they’re rather indifferent about people who don’t (to them) matter as much, or they don’t like anyone.

I think I fall in the second category, which may or may not surprise you. I have always, since I was a little girl, had a difficult time making friends. When I was a child I would wait for other children to approach me and invite me to play with them, but I would never ever approach anyone. As I became older, I became more comfortable talking with grown-ups and having conversations with people but I always knew what I was going to say. I think one of the reasons I enjoy making friends with diabetes is because I know how the conversation will go and I’m not as anxious. In the movie, every time I saw Amelie run away from the guy she was falling in love with, I thought about all the times I had done that with people I knew in high school or in college or even now. I thought about how many times I have watched people hanging out or having lunch and wishing I had the nerve to approach them or say something and just turning around and walking away because it was easier.

At the end (I hope you don’t mind me ruining it for you), Amelie is encouraged to take the risk or, as she is warned, her heart will dry up like the skeleton of her elderly neighbor. Taking risks seems to be the theme of my life right now. I know I took a huge risk in coming here, and I sometimes wonder if the risk was worth it.

The actual title of the movie, in French, is “Fabuleux destin d’Amelie Poulain, Le” which mean “The Fabulous Destiny of Audrey Poulain.” I love that title because I feel like all of our lives have this fabulous destiny that we’ll have if we just take the risk to find it.


7 Comments
  1. February 2, 2008 12:35 AM

    It’s been several years since I saw Amelie and I just loved it. Quirky and entertaining.

    When you get a chance, watch Once. It’s set in Dublin, Ireland. The music is very good and it’s a nice story. We watched at Christmas about 4 weeks after I’d been in Ireland, it made me feel a little like I was back there.

    I’m with you by the way. I’m fairly outgoing, but it really takes a long time for me to make good friends with someone. This stuff isn’t easy.

    Even though you and Mel are the only d-bloggers I’ve met (so far), I feel like I have a great d-blogger family out there with Scott J, Scott S, George, Manny, Kerri, Shannon, AmyT, David Mendosa, and way too many others to mention. I do hope a big group of us manages to get together some day.

  2. February 2, 2008 1:49 AM

    Bernard, I LOVE Once.🙂

    Glad you finally saw Amelie, Allison!🙂

  3. February 2, 2008 7:16 AM

    Hmm, might have to rent it.
    I am totally just like you. I never approach people, and just observe from the outside. Thankfully some of my friends have decided we need to branch out and we have been. It’s actually not that bad once you get past the first step, but I always need the extra push!

  4. February 2, 2008 2:56 PM

    Amelie is a good movie.

    I am sometimes really friendly/outgoing/loud, sometimes shy, depending on my mood and the situation. I have a little anxiety but can usually make friends/initiate conversations fairly easily. I also sometimes feel more comfortable with people that aren’t my exact peers – like a little older or younger. In college, most of my friends were either a year or 2 ahead or a year behind me. Age/grade isn’t that big of a deal in college anymore, but I think I might have been intimidated/overwhelmed as a freshman trying to make friends with my peers.

    However when it comes to people I’m attracted to, I’m like you except wayyy worse. If I’m interested in someone I usually end up running away from them and avoiding contact/eye contact, the exact opposite of what I want/intend to do. I seem to have no problem flirting with people (by accident) that I’m not interested in.

    Also, if you have netflix now, here is another (foreign) movie recommendation. I didn’t mention it before because it’s harder to find, but netflix has it. Machuca is a great movie (2004, Chile). It is a little sad/intense, but also beautiful and feel good in other parts. And good music.

  5. February 3, 2008 1:10 AM

    I liked Amelie a lot. It was one of the few DVDs I brought with me to Taiwan. Of course, I love the name, too!

    I’m going to watch “Once.”

  6. February 4, 2008 6:17 AM

    I loved that movie! Just watched it a few weeks ago after my sister suggested it. Very much a feel-good movie, and a giggle at the same time. She’s fabulous🙂

    I often find myself comparing roles to my own life. I think that’s why I like Bridget Jones so much – she’s me but with a better story line lol.

  7. Gayle permalink
    February 6, 2008 12:56 PM

    Yeah Amelie!!

Comments are closed.