Skip to content

Week End.

January 26, 2008

Another week has past and I’m gearing up for the weekend.

This was my first week on Weight Watchers. I think it went rather well, actually. I think most of my eating patterns are pretty right on with Weight Watchers already. But I’m definitely cutting down a bit more on what I eat for lunch – no more grilled chicken wraps and potato chips. Smaller lunches means my dinners stay pretty much the same, and my breakfasts have always been pretty small. Just a bowl of oatmeal but instead of having orange juice, I’ve been drinking Diet Iced Tea or just water. I also stopped eating afternoon snacks and I’m trying to drink more water. But it’s hard because I hate water. I really do. Mostly because it doesn’t taste like anything so I just take a sip and I’m like “Okay, I’m done.” I go through maybe 16 ounces in a day. That’s it. A co-worker suggested using those flavor packets. I used to drink flavored water with Crystal Light when I was in high school. I should pick some up when I go to the grocery store tomorrow.

In other news, my debit card finally came in the mail yesterday! You have no idea how much you need your debit card until you don’t have one anymore. How did you survive before they were invented?! Anyway, I decided to join Netflix in addition to WW. My first three movies are supposed to arrive tomorrow. At the top of the list are: Amelie, The Lives of Others and Eastern Promises.

Apparently Viggo Mortensen is naked in Eastern Promises. Reason enough for me!

Tonight I took myself out to the movies to see 27 Dresses. I contemplated watching Cloverfield but I was in the mood for something more… how shall I say… upbeat… I thought it was terrific. I’m usually very particular about my romantic comedies. Most are definitely watchable, but you really have to find something unique for me to think it’s a “good movie.” The last romantic comedy that I actually adored was The Holiday with Kate Winslet. I also loved Hitch. If you like either of those movies, you should check out 27 Dresses. Katharine Heigel does a great job.

On the agenda for Saturday: grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s, a long overdue phone call with one of my best friends from high school (apparently she got into grad school but she hasn’t said where! I’m so anxious!), a couple loads of laundry (when I was a the bank earlier this week to get cash for gas, I also got a roll of $10 in quarters – laundry money for at least a month!), and a mini-marathon of The Wire. Plus whatever movies I can fit in.

Then on Sunday… my 14th anniversary! I know, can you believe it’s been a year already? Insane, right? I have small celebratory dinner planned in Manhattan with a few of my urban-dwelling diabetic friends. I’ll have more details post-dinner, but needless to say, I’m very excited. Usually I get rather depressed around my anniversary, which is why I have the whole celebration thing to go with it just to make the passing of another year a bit easier. But this year, I’m feeling really good about things. Even though it’s just been a week, I can see my blood sugars are doing much better with a lower carb intake, but WW still gives me some flexibility to have some fun. Now I’ll also have the added benefit of shedding some unnecessary weight (I’ll never be skinny – I’m German/Hungarian, it’s against the laws of genetics – but definitely looking to dump some of this extra padding). I also have a good job, good family, a good (albeit small) group of friends.

I am completely complication free.

So while diabetes always has it’s frustrations and annoyances and fears, it’s easy to pull the wonderful things out of diabetes right now. I like that.

I’m holding on to them for all they’re worth.

P.S. Thank you for all the wonderful comments you left in the last post! I enjoy reading them. 

8 Comments
  1. January 26, 2008 4:46 AM

    I weigh in tomorrow (or should I say today). I am so happy you joined. The more people I know on WW, the more I want to make sure I stick with it!

    Rock on!

  2. January 26, 2008 6:22 AM

    I hear you about the debit card. I was without a bank card for 3 weeks due to a bank mess up. When I pointed out to them the difficulty this put me for obtaining money when the bank was shut, they suggested I transfer money online to a friend, and get them to withdraw it!!

    And Eastern Promises is a great (if somewhat violent at times!) movie.

    I hope you enjoy your anniversary – it’s good to focus on the positives.

  3. January 26, 2008 7:51 AM

    Where to begin. Water is gross, you should try the Crystal Light Immunity, Hydration, and Energy drinks they are basically like a watery version of the powdered mix. If I had Netflix I would be in so much trouble, I already watch too many movies with our cable subscription package. 27 Dresses, all I have to say is “Benny and the Jets”! And finally Happy Anniversary it really seems like it’s going to be a good one!

  4. January 26, 2008 9:29 AM

    I really really enjoyed 27 dresses as well.

    I definitely recommend the flavor packets… Propel even has some, if you need more than just flavored water.

    We’ll have to talk a little more about WW privately… My doctor keeps pushing me to go there and I just don’t know how I feel about it. I have another appt. Tuesday and I’m already working on my monologue to get her to stop harassing me!!

  5. January 26, 2008 11:07 AM

    Happy Anniversay! It’s great that you are looking at things so positively – as we all should.

    Oh, and I HATE water, too! The only time I can actually drink it without gagging is when my BG is sky high – and that’s not good. And it has to be ICE COLD water. I think I’m addicted to carbonation & stick with Diet Coke. That’s probably another reason I can’t lose the weight. I’m glad you’re making the effort to drink the 16 ounces of water a day. I should really do that, too. Just can’t make myself do it. Good luck!

  6. January 26, 2008 3:15 PM

    I’m dragging my husband w/me to see 27 Dresses this afternoon..
    it looks good.(maybe its a chick movie but what he doesn’t know won’t hurt him..-:)

    Best wishes for another year-and for lots of success with the WW challenge.

  7. January 26, 2008 6:29 PM

    I think it is good to acknowledge our anniversarys. We work hard, and that deserves to be acknowledged.

    Take care!

  8. Gayle permalink
    January 27, 2008 1:47 PM

    Seltzer! You get some fizz, which definitely helps with water boredom. And it comes in orange, lemon-lime, etc. Yum yum.

Comments are closed.