Skip to content

Want to be in JDRF’s Newsletter?

January 23, 2008

I tried posting this on TuDiabetes but I got shoved off the main page too quickly so I’m not sure anyone ever wrote back about this.

I’m writing a story about health 2.0 (websites, social networks, blogs, etc.) for people with diabetes and I need a few quotes from people who have used these services (including but not limited to: The Diabetes O.C., TuDiabetes, Diabetes Daily, Diabetes Talkfest, etc.).

In a few sentences, please tell me the following:

1. Why do you think health 2.0 is useful for people with diabetes?

2. How has it personally impacted your life? Please use specific examples if possible.

I’m only going to be able to include two or three quotes from people, so please do not be discouraged if I do not include you. I may use your quote for another story.

Also, this is time sensitive! I need to send my quotes in by 1 p.m. EST today (January 23).

Update: There’s still time! I’m not sending the quotes in until at least 2:30 p.m., so feel free to keep posting even thought it’s after 1 p.m.

An actual real post coming later….

Thanks!

4 Comments
  1. January 23, 2008 11:14 AM

    Here my view on the subject:

    1. Why do you think health 2.0 is useful for people with diabetes?

    Health 2.0 is one of those resources that is available 24/7 365. There is an endless supply of information for those who don’t have proper healthcare or do not have access to traditional methods of information about Diabetes. Anything that you could possibly want or need can be found out there in the Health 2.0 arena. It just a matter of going out and getting it.

    2. How has it personally impacted your life? Please use specific examples if possible.

    Because of Health 2.0, I know that I will be able to live to see my children reach the landmark events that every parent looks forward to. Before I began exploring the internet for Diabetes related sites and information, I did not manage my Diabetes very well. Many of the blogs, online communities and health2.0 type sites helped to open my eyes to my health and how to better manage it.

    I hope I was not too wordy. I hope this helps.

  2. David permalink
    January 23, 2008 11:43 AM

    I’m type II, but..

    I’ve used online sources for diabetes information for eight years, starting with USENET alt.support.diabetes and now with the blogs. Without them, I would NOT have been able to drop 60 lbs (and keep it off) and take my blood glucose from 9%+ down to 5.3%. (My lipids are great, too.)

    The most powerful facet of Health 2.0 is the large number of ‘amateur scholars.’ They not only answer my questions, but include links to high-quality sources (online medical journals, Medscape CMEs, the CDC, policy statements of the AACE.)

  3. January 23, 2008 12:53 PM

    1. Diabetes is a unique disease that affects every aspect of a person’s life from the time they are diagnosed forth- often times for decades, in other words. Only another person with diabetes can possibly understand what this means. It can be too hard to meet a wide range of people with diabetes “in real life” due to constraints on location and people’s ability to be open face to face. Therefore, the internet is an ideal environment for this to take place. It can help you when you are down and you can encourage others when you are up.

    2. Everyone feels alone when they are diagnosed. Being able to begin blogging soon after I was diagnosed gave me a chance to “air” my feelings in a safe place, and often get useful feedback as well. Being involved online allowed me to become in control faster, have fewer negative feelings, and helped ease my transition to the pump.

  4. January 24, 2008 1:43 AM

    Hi Allison,

    As you may know, I moderated the Patient Social Media panel at the first Health 2.0 conference, and will be doing so again at the upcoming March conference. Let me know if you want to talk.

    Take care!
    – AmyT

Comments are closed.