Skip to content

First Day

January 21, 2008

Over the past few weeks, quite a few OCers have joined Weight Watchers. I mentioned a few weeks ago I was going to join, but I couldn’t afford it until I received my next paycheck. Well, paycheck came in last week, bills were paid and – oh look! – still enough to afford Weight Watchers.

Yay…

Anyway, did a zip code search at the Weight Watchers website and found the closest meeting place, just the next town over. Drove over this evening for my first-ever meeting.

Well, not really. When I was in high school, my mother and I joined Weight Watchers briefly and I managed to lose around ten pounds. Weight Watchers definitely works, but unfortunately, my mother’s work schedule got in the way of our ability to go to our local meeting (it only met once a week at that location, unlike this location which has meetings every day of the week) and I was too scared to go by myself.

Well, six years later and I’m still a bit scared to go by myself, and as I drove into the parking lot, I contemplated making a U-turn and heading right back to my apartment to watch more episodes of The Wire.

But you know what kept me in that parking lot? Do you know what helped me get through that door?

G-Money.

Because I thought to myself: You know, when George started Weight Watchers, he was by himself. He didn’t go with anyone (or at least no one that I’m aware of…) and no one in the O.C. was doing this either. But he still walked through those doors and now he’s 29 pounds lighter! And now not only is George doing it, but so are Amylia and Beth and Shannon (I think…)

So, with the support of my imaginary internet weirdo friends, I walked through the doors of the Weight Watchers office.

Anyway, in the interest of full disclosure are my stats (and because everyone else has done it and I don’t want to look like I have something to hide…):

Starting weight: 194 lbs (ugh… I was 171 when I moved across the country… look at what this paycheck and health insurance is doing to me!)

10%: 19 lbs.

Target weight: 175 lbs.

I’m definitely looking forward to losing a grip of weight (ha! A grip…). However, I’m not sure I understand the choice in location for this particular meeting location: The office is right next door to a Chinese buffet. Ironic, no? It reminded me of that episode of Weight Watchers when Miranda joined and she was talking to that guy about the Weight Watchers across from the Krispy Kreme.

The torture they must put some people through.

14 Comments
  1. January 21, 2008 9:38 PM

    GOOD LUCK! Apparently I can’t join WW because I am under 18 (whatever!), so I’ll just watch my calories and exercise along side all of you because I sure need to. Everyone is so brave posting their weight. On the radio the other day they asked, “what is one question that you always answer with a lie?” A zillion people phoned in “my weight”.

    Yay for creepy internet support!

  2. January 21, 2008 9:40 PM

    When I was dx’d, I joined Curves. I’d never been to a gym, had no idea how to use any equipment and so thought Curves would be good for me (and it was, then). Our local Curves was (it’s moved) located next door to Ben & Jerry’s – not fun. Although it was very tempting, I never once bought an ice cream cone on my way out – but it was very tempting!

  3. Allison permalink*
    January 21, 2008 10:00 PM

    Jillian: I was like a junior or senior in high school when I joined Weight Watchers – so definitely not 18 yet. But I went with my mom and I guess I got approval to join. So you might want to just ask if you could really lose the weight.

    Colleen: Ugh! What are people thinking?? Are they trying to make our lives more difficult??

  4. January 21, 2008 10:13 PM

    Congratulations and good luck!!

    I’ve had multiple friends that were very successful on the WW program. I hope that you are just as successful!

    Do they have a special Diabetes plan? If so, I might contemplate signing up.

    Mike

  5. Jamie permalink
    January 21, 2008 10:20 PM

    Way to go Allison! WW is very successful if you keep at it. That was my downfall – I kept falling off the wagon😦 I know you’ll do great at it though with the support of all us internet weirdos lol.

  6. January 21, 2008 10:26 PM

    I think WW is based on the ADA recommended diet. I seem to remember hearing that the plan was designed by an endo.

    Good luck. I’m trying to lose weight, too, but the WW around here suck (and the Mommy-and-me one I went to told me I should find someone to watch my kids. Um, what??). I’ve been doing Sparkpeople and I’ve lost 8 lbs already.

    The WW I used to go to was next to an Indian place and across the parking lot from Trader Joe’s. Torture.

  7. January 21, 2008 11:18 PM

    Glad to hear you took the plunge. I am hoping to start soon myself. Keep us updated on the progress.

  8. Lili permalink
    January 22, 2008 12:40 AM

    The WW near my house is in a strip mall directly above a Baskin Robbins.😦

  9. Shannon permalink
    January 22, 2008 1:01 AM

    I go to the meetings by myself. I think I’m the youngest person there, too!

    And funny enough, the meetings I go to are in a strip mall neighboring the best Mexican restaurant in town, a pizza place, and a another place voted the best seafood in town. After the meetings, some of the women who’ve gotten friendly go to the various restaurants. The smell coming from the restaurants is lovely.

    I like the program and this time want to stick with it until I lose every pound I need to lose. In the past I thought I could do it on my own, and I figured I’d save money and not go. But, the meetings really help keep me motivated and I have a particular leader I like. I lost 30 pounds the last time, and this time I have a remaining 20-25 to go.

    Good luck!!

  10. January 22, 2008 9:44 PM

    Ahhh. G-Money. That dude is an inspiration to so many of us!

    I so heart all of our imaginary internet weirdo friends.

  11. Sara permalink
    January 23, 2008 10:33 PM

    Hey – Scott!

    I resemble that remark!😉

  12. January 26, 2008 4:43 AM

    Shame on me for missing this post! I am so busy Allison that I did not know until I read you post today!

    CONGRATS ON JOINING!!!!!

  13. August 24, 2009 9:49 AM

    Hi Allison

    I just happened on your blog after my blog told me to (those strange wee ‘possibly related’ messages they send). Anyway, I’m glad I did. I have also joined weight watchers and really enjoy reading about other people’s experiences with them… Although I live in Scotland and you in the US, I think it’s the same idea world wide; loose weight with point counting or be punished with ritual humiliation.
    Anyway, loved your blog and I’m off to read your follow up posts.
    Regards Ness (just another WW minion!)

Trackbacks

  1. Lots of Lemonade « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.