Skip to content

A Challenge Update

January 19, 2008

After work yesterday I drove to Wal-Mart and bought a new Philips DVD player (yes, yes, I know the evils of Wal-Mart but I’m young, broke and they’re cheap). It took twice as long to plug everything in as it would a normal person, but I’m technologically-challenged.

I just wanted to thank everyone for all their suggestions. I have seen quite a few of the suggestions, which I think goes to show the O.C. has great taste in movies.😉 And look at all of you and your foreign flicks – how worldly!

On recommendation from a friend, I went to Hollywood Video last night and checked out some episodes of The Wire. Today, I went back to the video store, but I had forgot to bring the list of DVDs that you all suggested. The only one I could remember off the top of my head was Amelie, which I amazingly have not yet seen despite the two dozen people who recommended it over the years – but they didn’t have it! The one time I actually try to check it and they don’t have it!

Sigh.

So I picked up another disc of The Wire and checked out Little Children, starring Kate Winslet. I remember seeing trailers of it last year  and thinking it looked really interesting. I’ll let you know what I think after I watch it.

I’m also thinking about just going and seeing Cloverfield this weekend. Honestly, I’ve never been much for watching scary movies, but there are so many people I know who are threatening to give everything away that if I don’t see it now I might not have much of a reason to see it ever… and then I will once again be the loser who hasn’t seen the latest blockbuster hit.

So I have a bunch of movie recommendations, but I’m a little low on book suggestions? Keep ’em coming, people! I know you have opinions…

8 Comments
  1. talesofmy30s permalink
    January 19, 2008 10:09 PM

    Books?

    The Best of Everything – Rona Jaffe (see LJ for review)
    Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life – Amy Krouse Rosenthal
    Complications – Atul Gawande

  2. January 20, 2008 1:23 AM

    The next time you stop by Hollywood video, ask them if they have the 5 for 5 special. You can rent 5 dvds for 5 days for a total of 5 dollars, provided the dvds are not new releases. they don’t advertise it openly, but most stores will honor it.

  3. January 20, 2008 8:54 AM

    My sister is a teen librarian so these suggestions are technically Young Adult but some of my favorites just the same.

    By Stephenie Meyer Twiloght, New Moon and Eclipse (series of 3)

    The Maximum Ride series by James Patterson

    Sweetblood by Pete Hautman

  4. January 20, 2008 1:54 PM

    Seeing “Cloverfield” in the theater is probably a good idea. I have a feeling it’ll lose a lot of details on a small screen; however, if you get motion sick, it might not be the movie for you on a big screen. It’s all frantic, hand-held camera work. That’s the only spoiler you’ll get from me, except for the fact that I enjoyed it! 🙂

    As for books, I recommend one of my favorites, “Crazy in Alabama”, which is alternately hilarious and moving.

  5. January 21, 2008 1:03 AM

    Hey Allison,
    Can you publish a complete list of all the recommendations when you get ’em together? Books & movies. Would love that.

    Right now I’m reading “The Windup Bird Chronicles.” Good stuff,

    Best,
    AmyT

  6. January 21, 2008 1:30 AM

    If you haven’t read it already- Pride and Prejudice! It’s one of my favorites. Other ones..
    East of Eden- John Steinbeck
    Demian – Herman Hess
    Beloved-Toni Morrison
    Dubliners- James Joyce

  7. January 21, 2008 12:34 PM

    I reviewed one of the Maximum Ride novels and hated it, for what it’s worth. I am definitely NOT a James Patterson fan, though.

    I left my list of books on the last entry, but I’m sure I can come up with more for you.

    Do you like fantasy fiction at all? Historical stuff? What are you interested in? It’s easier to suggest stuff if I know what you like (or better, what you hate.)

  8. July 1, 2008 8:15 PM

    The Virgin Blue – I just finished it and LOVED it!

Comments are closed.