Skip to content

Realize

January 17, 2008

Okay.

I realize it was my fault that I lost my debit card because I’m haphazard and irresponsible and didn’t put it back in my wallet like the million and one other times I do.

I realize that because I lost my debit card I would not be able to purchase a train ticket to the city in the morning because I could neither find said debit card or credit card (the one time I really needed it!) nor did I have any cash because who carries cash???

I realize that because I had no debit or credit card or cash, I would have to wait until the bank opened to ask the teller to give me the money I need to take the train into the city.

I realize that because I had to drive to a Bank of America bank, I had to time my arrival precisely.

I realize that because I have terrible sense of timing, there is no way this was going to go well.

I also realize that because I can’t seem to put new insulin into my insulin pump when I notice it’s almost empty I then run the risk of realizing I have 18 units (approximately 15 hours) to last me nine hours in the city plus dinner at a fancy restaurant after I bought the train tickets.

I realize that after fourteen years I should know better than to forget something so important like the clear, smelly liquid that keeps me alive. 

I also realize that after fourteen years I’m sick of having to remember. There is truly nothing like having your mortality stare up at you from a 1 by 2 inch piece of plastic (melodramtic? ya think?).

I realize that because I’m responsible (ha!) and not in the mood to forgo delicious food during a dinner meeting when that’s the entire reason I’m going into the city in the first place (!!!) that I now will now miss the train for the third time today.

I realize that because I drove back home to get a bottle of insulin (fresh and full of potency!), I have now missed the train which the tickets I purchased are for.

I realize that because I do not want to wait another minute I need to beg the train conductor to let me stay on the train, or hand over an extra dollar or two to make up the difference.

I realize that because I lost debit card, which was my fault, I have now lost two and a half hours of productive worktime for which I will make up tonight. Good-bye sleep.

I also realize that despite all my best efforts (erm, mediocre?), this is most likely not the last time something like this will happen.

7 Comments
  1. January 17, 2008 5:13 PM

    Allison, I really feel for you here!

    This is the reason I keep a syringe and bottle of insulin inside my meter case, which I’m much less likely to forget. But of course, forgetting does happen. As does forgetting to put the bottle back into the case after taking it out… As does losing the meter case, or the syringe… So don’t worry, it happens to us all.

    I just hope it doesn’t happen again soon, and that the rest of your day is going great!

  2. January 17, 2008 5:28 PM

    Oh, so you’re having one ot THOSE days! I’m so sorry. I don’t know why, but when something D related screws with the day, it can be soooo upsetting. But when other stuff happens, I can blow it off more easily. When it all happens at once, well, maybe there will be some nice cocktails before dinner.

  3. Allison permalink
    January 17, 2008 6:27 PM

    Allison,

    Those days suck and are even worse when you’re worrying about diabetes. Hope you made it to dinner, that you had a great time, and that tomorrow is better!

    :o) Allison

  4. January 17, 2008 6:55 PM

    Days like this truly suck, but I hope you realize that this hap hazard day is almost over, and that tomorrow will be better.

    I also hope, that if you can’t find your cards, you cancel them!

  5. January 17, 2008 8:24 PM

    Allison,
    I hope you find your cards. I would be lost without mine. I carry very little cash. Good luck finding your cards. I usually find mine in the washer where they fell out of a pair of jeans or something.

    I hope tomorrow is a better day.🙂

  6. January 18, 2008 10:13 AM

    Hello.

    I have type I diabetes 25 years ago. I come from Spain. Excuse me for my English.

    I invite you to visit and take part in my web. You can to send diabetes news, comment it, vote it, etc. (Do you know DIGG?).

    The web:

    http://diabetesnews.corank.com

    Thank you.
    Sweet Blood.

  7. Gayle permalink
    January 19, 2008 12:11 PM

    Does anyone else notice that Novolog smells like bandaids? I love that. Hope you had a KILLER dinner!!

Comments are closed.