Skip to content

One Hundred and One

January 1, 2008
I have never really been good at making and keeping resolutions (though let’s be honest, who has?). I have seen a few lists popping up around the Internet that cater towards more long-term goals that people can set for themselves, such as 43things.com or my50.com, which guides you through making life achievement goals. The latest one I saw is the 1001 Day Project, which asks people to create a list of 101 things they would like to do in 1,001 days. For those of you who haven’t done the math, 1,001 days is approximately 2.75 years. If you started the project today, it would end on September 28, 2010. The reason behind the madness of 1,001 days, which does seem terribly long, is because sometimes you need several seasons or an extended period of time in which to accomplish something, such as losing a large amount of weight or traveling overseas.I thought this was a brilliant idea and certainly a creative way of doing some much needed self-improvement. Over the past three days, I have been wracking my brain trying to think of 101 things I want to accomplish by the time I turn 25 years old (well, technically I’ll be just under 25 years and 2 months old when the challenge ends). I divided my challenges into more specific subcategories that are important to me.
  • Diabetes
  • General Health and Improvement
  • Spiritual
  • Educational
  • Food and Entertainment
  • Travel
  • Photography
  • Purchases
  • Finances
  • Giving Back
  • Random

Some goals (such as books or doctor’s appointments) have parenthesis next to them with the amount I’ve achieved out of the total number of times I want to do them. This is because these goals are spread out of such a long period of time that I want to keep the progress up-to-date. Goals done in one chunk of time (small or large) will just be marked as being in progress when I start.

I also have a key for the folks at home who are following along:

The Key:

Not Started
In Progress
Accomplished (with the date)

I will be blogging each accomplishment as it happens, and possibly the progress, depending on what it is. Some of the goals, like the 101 movies and 101 books, I will definitely need suggestions, so feel free to send me an email at amblass at gmail dot com if you can think of ways to help me meet my goals.

If anyone wants to join along, you can start this project at any time. Use this handy tool to find out when your end date will be.

101 Things in 1,001 Days

The Mission:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as New Year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips or outdoor activities.

Start Date: January 1, 2008. End Date: September 28, 2010.

I will donate $2.00 to JDRF for every item not completed.

Diabetes

1. Get an A1C under 7% at least once
2. Write my blood sugars down for 7 consecutive days once a month (0/33)
3. Get a CGMS
4. Visit the endocrinologist 3 times a year (0/8)
5. Meet ten new diabetes bloggers (0/10)
6. Go to at least one CWD conference every year
7. Update the Diabetes O.C. Directory once a month
8. Write another article for a diabetes magazine
9. See a conference for adults with type 1 come to fruition
10. Change my lancet once a month

General Health and Improvement

11. Keep a food journal and write what I eat everyday for a month
12. Stop drinking soda for one month
13. Attend a yoga class at least once a week for a month
14. Go to the gym 4 days a week for two months – extended if sick
15. Lose 20 pounds (0/20)
16. Go to the dentist twice a year (0/5)
17. Go to the gynecologist once a year (0/3)
18. Drink at least two bottles of water everyday for a month
19. Finish a bottle of multivitamins (but starting from new, not counting the one I already have open)
20. Get a professional massage
21. Eat vegetarian for one week
22. Floss my teeth everyday for a month
23. Go one month without eating fast food
24. Take an adult ballet class

Spiritual

25. Find a church and attend for six months, though not consecutively (too much travel)
26. Read the entire Bible
27. Attend a Bible study class for six months, again, not necessarily consecutively
28. Write in a prayer journal once a week for six months
29. Download and listen to sermons from Imago Dei Community every week for six months
30. Succeed in giving up something for Lent

Educational

31. Learn Hebrew
32. Take a photography class
33. Read 101 books (0/101)
34. Become a member to a museum in New York
35. Become a member at the New York Public Library
36. Visit 10 local art galleries
37. Complete a Sudoku book

Food and Entertainment

38. Attend one Broadway play a year (0/3)
39. Watch 101 movies (0/101)
40. Attend a performance by the New York Ballet Corp
41. Attend a concert at Madison Square Garden
42. Try one new restaurant in New York City every month (0/33)
43. Buy a cookbook and make every recipe out of it (except for beef recipes – yuck)
44. Host a dinner party
45. See Moby perform live
46. Attend the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade
47. Be a part of a live audience for a TV show
48. Celebrate New Years in Times Square
49. Attend a performance by the New York Opera

Travel

50. Visit Israel
51. Visit London
52. Visit Amsterdam
53. Visit 5 new states
54. Watch the sun rise in Montauk
55. Go camping
56. Take a trip with my brother
57. Take a trip with my mother

Photography

58. Buy a pre-professional camera
59. Have a photo in a professional magazine/website/exhibit
60. Purchase Photoshop and learn to love it
62. Start a photoblog
63. Go to three photography exhibits (0/3)
64. Participate in the Diabetes 365 project
65. Take one photo a day for a month (that isn’t diabetes-related)
66. Print and frame my favorite photographs to give to my grandmothers and my parents

Purchases

67. Buy a laptop
68. Buy a PDA of some sort
69. Buy wireless headphones
70. Buy a Coach purse
71. Buy new and funkier dishes
72. Buy a coffee table
73. Buy a bookshelf for the living room
74. Buy only cleaning supplies and mostly organic food

Finances

75. Save $5,000
76. Invest in stock market
77. Catalog all expenses for one month every year (0/3)
78. Eliminate debt
79. Pay off full balance every month once debt is gone

Giving Back

80. Volunteer 101 hours to something that is NOT diabetes-related (0/101)
81. Donate $50 to the National MS Society during National MS Week (0/3)
82. Participate in the JDRF Ride to Cure Diabetes
83. Sponsor a child in a third world country
84. Join Big Brothers/Big Sisters
85. Donate blood
86. Find out where the nearest recycling center is and start recycling weekly
87. Vote in the 2008 elections
88. Mail a sussy to five people
89. Send only handmade (either by me or someone else) gifts for Christmas one year
90. Mail 12 birthday cards to friends and/or family a year
91. Send a handwritten letter once a month

Random

92. Avoid the Internet on the weekend for a month
93. Send a secret to PostSecret.com
94. Identify 101 things that make me happy
95. Write a blog entry everyday during the workweek
96. Complete NaBloPoMo’s in 2008 and 2009
97. Visit the Bronx Zoo
98. Get a tattoo
99. Move to the city or Hoboken
100. Get a cat
101. Celebrate my 25th birthday in another country

10 Comments
  1. January 1, 2008 7:53 PM

    Good luck! I really like the idea. I’ve done some of these things, including sending the post secret. It was surprisingly freeing to send it in even though it wasn’t on the site.

  2. January 1, 2008 8:26 PM

    Wow Allison that’s a lot of stuff. Best of luck with getting some of the really important (for you) done.

    I hope that this year is one where you get to make the East Coast a real home for yourself, and that it’s a blessed one for you in ways that you don’t expect.

  3. January 2, 2008 1:55 AM

    Happy new year allison! this looks like a good idea, and I wish you the best of luck in getting it all done.. I’m sure you can!

  4. January 2, 2008 2:11 AM

    That’s a great list.

    I’m really thinking about doing this.

  5. Gayle permalink
    January 2, 2008 2:36 PM

    Yeah Allison!!! Great list! I’d be down to see some photo exhibits…the ICP usually has nice work, as does the MoMA. Let me know if you’d like a little company. Good luck and happy new year!

  6. Minnesota Nice permalink
    January 2, 2008 7:17 PM

    What an absolutely fabulous and well-thought-out list, Allison. I am very impressed by the scope and the detail.
    Good luck. And best wishes for a Happy New Year

  7. January 2, 2008 9:14 PM

    Hi! New diabetes blogger here…does that count for your #5 or are you talking about IRL meetings?
    I love your list! I can’t imagine getting that much stuff done in 1001 days. Whew! Best of luck to you!
    Oh, and I think #23 and #42 might be a conundrum for you.😉

  8. Allison permalink*
    January 2, 2008 9:40 PM

    Susan: Very nice to meet you! But yes, these are IRL meetings. I meet 10 new bloggers practically every week, so that wouldn’t be much of a challenge, would it?

  9. January 6, 2008 8:57 AM

    I figured as much. It’s just all very ambitious-sounding for where I am at this point in my life, but I know you are not in that place, you are in your own place… and meeting 10 new d-bloggers in real life sounds like a blast! Have a great time and best of luck. =)

  10. Tara permalink
    January 11, 2008 10:33 AM

    I love this list–what a great idea, and what a bunch of great goals you’ve filled it with!

    Looking forward to seeing you this weekend. =)

Comments are closed.