Skip to content

Bouncing Around.

December 28, 2007

I hardly at a moment’s breath in Oregon before being whisked away to Central California for Christmas.

It was a family reunion of sorts, brought upon by the birth of my cousin’s second child and my brief return from the West Coast. My family, which consists of my parents and my not-so-little brother, Eric, flew down to California last Sunday and over the next few days, my grandmother’s house slowly filled with our relatives, which included my mother’s two older brothers, my aunts and their children and their children’s families. At it’s peak on Christmas Day, we had thirteen people gathered in my grandmother’s living room.

My Christmas actually started last Saturday. We didn’t want to fly all our gifts down to California, so we opened presents from the immediate family. Among the gifts were a digital photo frame, scented room oils, money, the book Young, Fabulous and Broke by Suze Orman (gee, I wonder if my grandmother is trying to tell me something!) and a 2008 Anne Taintor calendar. Eric also gave me a shotglass of Mt. Hood to add to my growing collection because he says, “New Jersey doesn’t have any mountains.” Which is true.

On Christmas Eve, we had Chinese food and opened presents with my grandmother (more money, an ornament and a handcrafted snowman figurine). We did a Christmas exchange on Christmas Day with the family. All the girls bought a girl gift and all the boys bought a boy gift and then numbers were given out to people, and we selected our gift in numerical order. I heard my cousin say she put multiple gifts in her bag, so I took that one! Inside there was a red fleece blanket, some scented candles and two bowls filled with candy! Everyone laughed and my cousin promised to buy me some sugar free candy, but I said it would be fine as long as I took insulin for it. And boy did I take a lot of insulin!

Between my immediate family and the presents I received in California, we decided it would be best to mail my presents back to New Jersey to save me the pain of stuffing them into my suitcase and then lugging it around the airport and onto the train.

My blood sugars managed to stay reasonable considering I all but forgot what it feels like to be hungry! A faulty set and some wayward boluses landed me in the 200s and 300s, but nothing lasted very long which made me a very merry diabetic.

Of course, my favorite part of Christmas was seeing my baby cousin, Laura, who probably won’t be much of a baby the next time I have a chance to see her! Babies grow up so quickly, so I’m glad I was able to see her before she grows up and tries to avoid the family as much as possible. More pictures on Flickr…

Allison and baby Laura

Sounds like everyone else has had a merry Christmas from what I have seen today. Trying to catch up on the blogs, but luckily the holidays kept things somewhat quiet. I’m sure all the New Year’s Eve posts will be keeping the O.C. pretty talkative in the next couple of days. I might even post over the weekend just to get all the New Year’s eve memes finished!

4 Comments
  1. December 29, 2007 12:34 PM

    Sounds like you had a great time!🙂

  2. December 29, 2007 7:23 PM

    As a mom, I know your family enjoyed having you home for Christmas!

  3. December 29, 2007 8:52 PM

    Wow, you are just busy, busy, busy! But sounds like a lot of fun.

    Your niece is adorable. You’re right; babies grow up fast – too fast.

    Have a safe trip back home!

  4. landileigh permalink
    December 30, 2007 12:56 AM

    allison,
    looks like you had a wonderful west coast christmas!

Comments are closed.