Skip to content

Safe and Sound.

December 21, 2007

I suppose it was expecting a bit much to think that a sunny day in New Jersey would translate to departing on time from Newark Liberty International Airport (aka EWR). Although it only took an hour and a half to get from my office complex to the gate at EWR, which left me about an hour before our expected departure time of 7:25 p.m., I knew it was probably too good to be true for the airport that rarely (if ever) has flights leave when they’re supposed to.

Just prior to boarding, the gate attendant announced the flight had oversold, so we spent about half an hour waiting for people to switch over to the next day’s flight to make room for everyone. Our expected take-off was now 8:04. I grabbed dinner because I knew our scheduled dinner would come far too late for this diabetic hovering just above 100 mg/dl. After grabbing a calorie-infused meal from one of the fast food restaurants, I waited by the gate to board. Because I fly a lot, I always like to look around the airport to see if I recognize anyone. I usually don’t, but this time was an exception. I noticed a girl listening to her iPod. She looked vaguely like someone I went to high school with, though she was a grade lower so it was hard to tell. Our eyes locked and she smiled.

“Hey.”

Oh good, I’m not crazy, I thought, thinking I probably looked like a stalker for staring. She was attending West Point up in New York state, but was flying home for Christmas just like I was. My seat was before hers, so I bid good-bye and went aboard.

About fifteen minutes later, the pilot came onto the intercom.

“We’re having some difficulty closing the cargo door,” he said. “Maintenance is having a look. I’ll report back in about ten minutes.”

10 minutes later passed, and the pilot came back on the intercom. They were still have some difficulty closing the door. It was now about 8:40 p.m. and we were more than an hour passed our scheduled departure time and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky.

After another ten minutes, we finally began backing out from the terminal. We rolled along for a few minutes and then stopped. The plane was completely still out on the runway. Then we moved forward a bit more. After about forty minutes or so of this stop and go movement, the pilot announced that we were about thirty to thirty-five minutes away from taking off.

We watched other planes take-off, and bemoaned the fact it was over two hours since we were supposed to leave.

Finally, just after 10 o’clock at night, we soared up into the sky towards Portland.

I spent much of the flight asleep, or at least feigning sleep with my iPod playing songs from Frou Frou (that one group that did that one song from the movie Garden State) and Dahlia (an indie group from Portland). We had our dinner of cheese pizza, a salad of entirely white lettuce, a bag of potato chips and a brownie. I didn’t have much insulin left in my pump, so I juts ate the pizza and salad. My blood sugar has skyrocketed to 322 mg/dl, but I attributed that to my late start in turning on the temp basal rate which I normally do when I fly. By the time we arrived in Portland, my blood sugar was 222 mg/dl, and it was 199 mg/dl when I went to bed (and then of course, I went low at 6:30 a.m.).

We landed shortly before one in the morning, Pacific Standard Time. I was exhausted and couldn’t stop yawning, though the excitement of seeing my dad and my brother woke me up quite a bit. After we retrieved my luggage we headed home, where my mother woke up long enough to say hello before all four of us went to bed.

I crawled into bed shortly after two in the morning, which, if you do the math, meant that it was five in the morning to my body. I had been up for nearly twenty hours and slept a nice, solid seven hours (well, solid minus the low blood sugar…).

Now I’m just waiting for my mother to finish getting ready and then we are going out to finish Christmas shopping for my cousin’s children, 5-year-old Aidan and six-month-old Laura, and then we are going to see the movie Juno which I’m really excited about. I have heard really great things about it. I’ll let you know how it is!

Posting will probably be a bit light next week, but I will try to check in when I can. Thanks for all the good wishes for the holidays and I wish nothing but great fun and great blood sugars for Christmas!

Ho! Ho! Ho!

4 Comments
  1. December 21, 2007 8:34 PM

    Allison,
    Glad you finally made it there – safe & sound. What an ordeal, though. All those delays! That would drive me crazy. But I’m sure you’re glad that flight’s over & you can now enjoy time with your family. Good luck with the BGs over the holiday & have a safe (and not quite as irritating) flight back.

  2. December 21, 2007 9:34 PM

    I’m glad you arrived safe and sound. Have a good Christmas. Please tell us about Juno, I really want to know if it’s worth it. Although I don’t really care if it isn’t good, my love of Michael Cera is enough to make me go.

  3. December 23, 2007 1:31 AM

    Allison

    When I was reading I thought you were going to say the plane got grounded by snow at the last minute. I’m glad you made it home safely despite the delays.

    Have a great Christmas, there’s nothing better than spending it at home with your family. That’s a big blessing in my book.

  4. December 25, 2007 12:32 AM

    Glad to hear you made it safe and sound – though it sounds like it was quite an adventure!

    Happy holidays to you – take care!

Comments are closed.