Skip to content

TGIFive

December 14, 2007

Wow! It’s been quite awhile since I’ve done a Friday Five. Time to clean out the inbox:

Last week, I received an email from Steven Taylor, a type 2 diabetic from Delaware, who has created a new online management system called My Sugar Level. Steven says, “The service allows diabetics to log their blood sugar, cholesterol, weight, blood pressure and other levels on interactive 3-D graphs.” Sounds interesting so if you’re looking for a place online to store your health care information (which is quite the trend lately!), then take a spin.

Yesterday, a woman from a company called BloggerReps emailed me about a new campaign they are working on in association with Ccube, which allows you to make and receive phone calls privately without anyone having to reveal a phone number. Ccube is working in conjunction with Unite for Sight to help raise $30,000 to provide proper eye care for families in low income communities. As we all know, people with diabetes have to pay special attention to our eyes (retinopathy being one of the litany of complications we’re at risk for). Ccube will donate $1.50 for each person who registers at their site between now and New Year’s Eve. I’m not sure if you have to actually use the service, though. I think you just have to register… Something to find out, I suppose. But the thought of having the ability for readers to call me without having to display my phone number for all the trolls to see is intriguing.

As most of you know, I spend a lot of time on the internet for my job. Sometimes I come across the craziest shit you have ever seen, but sometimes I actually find a website that is worthwhile, and I bookmark it, RSS it, blog it and Twitter it immediately in hopes that everyone will immediately fall in love with it too. This weeks little gem is Finslippy, a blog by a mother in New Jersey (three guesses to what I was looking for and the first two don’t count). Definitely a contender as a Dooce competitor; that is until I found the woman who designed Finslippy’s header is Dooce herself – Heather B. Armstrong! If you like snarky mothers with a flair for dramatic creativity, check her out. Julia, I’m looking at you.

Back to diabetes for a moment. This morning, while surfing Diabetes Headlines per usual, I came across Albert’s blog which linked to Scott Hanselman’s totally awesome analogy of diabetes which I immediately twittered (see above run-on sentence). I think it’s quite possibly the best explanation of diabetes. Everyone should go read it and forward it on to your friends, family and anyone who has ever pissed you off when they ask why the fancy contraption has solved all your problems. Bitches.

Okay, so I don’t actually have a fifth this week. But I did want to mention that if you ever run across something amusing, witty or informative and want to share it on the Friday Five, please send it to me. That goes for all press releases and such. I won’t post every press release I receive – I do have some editorial control over this blog, seeing as how it is mine and all. But if you have a worthwhile cause that needs a bit more attention from the diabetes community on the blogosphere, feel free to drop me a line at amblass at gmail dot com. I usually post things the following Friday.

Comments are closed.