Skip to content

A(nother) Resolution

December 13, 2007

It’s a snowy Thursday afternoon in Jersey, so I decided to work from home today. Because I’m a wimpy Oregonian who is scared of the white stuff.

Today was the second day this week that I woke up with my set disconnected. Comes in at a close second in Ways I Hate to Wake-Up (the first being a low blood sugar). On Tuesday morning, I woke up, but my blood sugar was only 216 mg/dl, which makes me think I had just ripped it out just prior to waking up. Of course when I went to put in a new set I managed to forget to do the Fixed Prime, so I skyrocketed to 354 mg/dl after my breakfast. Lovely. I woke up today with at lovely 381 mg/dl. I have no idea what is going on with that. I have been wearing this sweatshirt that has one of those baggy front pockets, but I’ve worn it for weeks and never had a problem. Now, I lose two perfectly good sets!

I was also late for work and with the meteorologist using words like “treacherous” and “storms” last night, I elected to just work from home. Where I am safe.

Working from home meant I did quite a bit of sitting around because I’m not wandering around the office like usual. When I tested at lunch (which was a bit late at 2pm), my blood sugar was 103 mg/dl. I decided to take my own advice and did a little arm-waving “woohoo!”. It was fun. You should try it. Made a nice and warm lunch of Manhattan Clam Chowder and a grilled cheese sandwich. Bolused and two hours later I slid down to 70 mg/dl. Of course, now thinking back on things, I realized I never looked at how many carbs were in the soup which teaches me not to be so absent-minded about carb counting. Sometimes I get so used to the amount of carbs I eat for lunch that I sometimes stop paying attention to what I’m actually eating because it’s just… easier.

Bad habit. Adding “Stop going on diabetes autopilot” to my list of New Year’s Resolutions.

Right after losing 20 lbs. and learn a new language.

2 Comments
  1. December 14, 2007 1:31 AM

    I think it’s really hard to be mindful 100% of the time. I try to be mindful in general, and even more specifically with my diabetes, but it’s such a constant companion that it’s not always possible for me to be as mindful as I’d like.
    We all do that autopilot maneuver, and I do it more than I even realize, I think….

  2. December 14, 2007 10:51 AM

    Speaking as someone who took nearly 2 hours to get home, instead of the normal 20 minutes, you made the right decision.

    And arm waving sounds like a good idea. I try to remember to do shoulder-shrugging after a few hours at the keyboard. It helps a lot.

    Suggestions for a new language. Irish – not. Tá sé an-deacair ar fad. And I speak from experience!

Comments are closed.