Skip to content

World Premiere.

December 12, 2007

Last week, when I was in New York City for the holiday party, I looked around and I wondered, “How on earth did I get here?”

A swanky nightclubs, the bright lights of Times Square, two thousand restaurants to choose from. It’s a far cry from the quiet bedroom community I grew up in. Even Portland still has more trees than people.

Last night, however, when I was in New York City again, I looked around and thought, “Thank God I’m here!”

Chris, one of the guys on the digital media team with me, was in town from another office for a client event. But he came a day early so he could attend the movie premiere of I Am Legend, the apocalyptic blockbuster starring Will Smith. Chris is also a movie blogger and he is the one who got me the ticket to August Rush last month. All last week, I saw trailer after trailer on television, and I wished I could go too.

Then on Saturday night, Chris emailed me and told me that he had another ticket if I wanted to go. On Monday I messaged him with an enthusiastic, “Yes!”

We left work and took the train into Penn Station. After a quick bite to eat, we headed up to the WaMu Theater at Madison Square Garden. After the guards scanned our tickets, we walked through the poster-lined hallway to the theater. Because it was a movie premiere, the production company (in this case, Warner Bros.) gives out complimentary popcorn and drinks, so we grabbed a big box of popcorn and drinks. Which is possibly my favorite part, as popcorn is my favorite food.

After the movie, people stole the posters off the wall.

The theater, which is traditionally used for bigger productions like the current run of Wintauk by Cirque de Soleil, was packed with people. Hundreds of people were already sitting in the seats, even though we had at least half an hour before the show would start. We eventually found a couple of seats and waited for the show to start.

About ten minutes later, the lights start to go down, and we got ready to watch the movie. But then the lights went up. And then down again. This happened several times before someone at the front of the theater started talking. It was a producer who talked about the movie and introduced several key players in the film who were in the audience, including the director, before introducing Will Smith. Will came to the front and spoke about the making of the film, and how much he appreciated New Yorkers because they filmed a lot of the movie in the streets of the city. We were in the back of the theater, so Will Smith was itty-bitty (not like the up close and personal experience with Robin Williams) but it was still awesome to see him in person.

Then the film started and it was surprisingly really great. I had heard that it might not be that good, because it’s a remake of a remake and there are also some similarities apparently to 28 Days Later. But it’s not very gory, just very suspenseful. I think Will Smith did a great job as well. It’s definitely a serious role, though as per Will Smith, there are some comical moments. It comes out on Friday, so you should definitely check it out.

6 Comments
  1. December 12, 2007 8:02 PM

    That sounds like a pop corn bucket full o’ fun. I really want to see it so I’m glad it’s actually good. But the real question that everyone wants answered… did he have his trademark Will Smith shower scene? (I feel so inappropriate asking that, but I just had to.)

  2. Allison permalink*
    December 12, 2007 8:18 PM

    No, not a shower scene. But he did have a workout scene which was even hotter! LOL.

  3. December 12, 2007 9:08 PM

    Oh good, more incentive to see it.😉

  4. December 12, 2007 10:43 PM

    Sounds like you had fun! I’m jealous. I love NYC. Unfortunately it is too expensive for me to travel from TN on any kind of regular basis. I went to the city last January. I have been daydreaming for the past couple of weeks about another trip…. maybe I should just move there.🙂

  5. December 13, 2007 5:54 AM

    I’m soooo jealous. I can’t wait to see I Am Legend, as it fits exactly the profile of my favourite kind of movie – 28 Days Later ranks as one of my all time favourites. I’m in to apocalypse, disaster and psychological thrill! Glad to hear you thought it was good, despite some of the negative pre-publicity it’s been getting.

Trackbacks

  1. Movie Marketing Madness » Movie Marketing Madness: I Am Legend

Comments are closed.