Skip to content

Reason #497 Why I Hate Diabetes

December 6, 2007

The time: Last night, 11:30 p.m.

The place: My bedroom.

I had just brushed my teeth, climbed into bed and was surfing Twitter on my laptop.

Allison Blass amblass I think I’m low. Let’s find out if I’m right.

I lean over and grab my glucose monitor from my purse, which was tossed haphazardly on the floor.

Prick my finger. Wait 5 second.

Allison Blass amblass ::Drum roll:: 81 mg/dl! Close enough for this post-gym bedtime reading. My prize? A Mixed Berry Juicy Juice. And maybe a couple of cookies.

Tottered off to the kitchen. Grabbed aforementioned Juice Juice box and slyly slid out two peppermint flavored Oreos (okay, they weren’t Oreos, they were Jo-Jo’s from Trader Joe’s). And I didn’t really slyly slide anything out. I live alone.

Slurped down the juice and munched on the cookies.

These don’t taste so good, I thought.

Allison Blass amblass Oh how I love going low after I brush my teeth… Fruit juice and toothpaste… YUM!

 

10 Comments
  1. Sara permalink
    December 6, 2007 4:53 PM

    Worst combo ever – toothpaste and orange juice!

    And Jo-Jos are better than Oreos.

    Do you have a Trader Joe’s up there or did someone send them to you from home?

  2. December 6, 2007 5:22 PM

    I hate doing that too. I always try to remind myself to test before brushing my teeth, but sometimes I just don’t and thats when I’m of course, low.

    And peppermint Jo Jo’s sound delicious. I may stop at Trader Joes on my way home from the office🙂

  3. landileigh permalink
    December 6, 2007 6:50 PM

    i eyeballed those at trader joe’s the other night. my daughter reminded me of my old oreo obsession, so i declined the purchase. i don’t think i could just eat two. you’re a strong woman allison if you can do that!

  4. December 6, 2007 6:51 PM

    Yeech, yeah, good reason to hate diabetes.

  5. December 6, 2007 7:42 PM

    I NEVER remember to check before I brush my teeth before I do the nightly check. Then there is the pain of re-brushing them after drinking mint-flavored juice.

  6. December 6, 2007 9:35 PM

    Hi Allison,
    Orange juice + toothpaste = yuck!

    I forget to test before I brush my teeth a lot, too. But I don’t drink orange juice so I don’t have to worry about that nasty yuck taste. It’s the worst, isn’t it?

  7. Allison permalink*
    December 6, 2007 11:34 PM

    Sara: We have Trader Joe’s here. I think it’s been my salvation in moving across the country. I don’t know what I would do if we didn’t have Trader Joe’s here. Or Target. I think I would probably move back to Oregon.

    Landileigh: Haha, oh, I’m usually not quite so conservative when it comes to my cookie intake, but I have been having some wacky morning highs and I think the culprit was my over indulge in my cozy winter comfort food: cookies and cocoa. Haven’t quite mastered the carb counting for those yet…

    The Rest: I don’t think I had tested before brushing my teeth, but I didn’t feel low so I didn’t think there was a problem. It wasn’t until I was in bed, and getting ready to test, that I started to feel low. Annoying as hell.

  8. December 7, 2007 12:01 AM

    Ewww that’s always the worst! I can remember bedtime lows being a massive pain for that reason when I was a kid. I’d whine to my mom to ask if we had anything else, because I’d just brushed my teeth, and I didn’t want to deal with the bad taste along with the feeling terrible. Yuck!

  9. vik permalink
    February 6, 2009 10:26 PM

    I just don’t want anymore needles

  10. February 25, 2009 4:58 PM

    yups i hate it when im low after brushing my teeth😀 but not that big of an issue, its still nice to have a lil snack before sleeping

Comments are closed.