Skip to content

Static.

December 5, 2007

There are three typical physical effects that winter has on me.

First, there is chapped lips (I’ve been slathering on Burt’s Beeswax and Bigelow’s flavored lip gloss like it’s going out of style).

Then there is dry skin, though it doesn’t seem to be much of a problem right now. This is probably because I have been spending more time inside my office building than outside in the dry, nippy air like the winters of yesteryear (and by yesteryear I mean trucking to and fro from classes in college, where I spent a significant portion of my day bundled up outside).

Last, but not least, we have static electricity. My arch nemesis. I have been suffering from static electricity in my hair and my clothes since I was a little girl because I have the wonderful distinction of having fine, straight hair that I swear double as copper wire during the winter. I have never found a way to combat the Rubbed-A-Balloon-Against-My-Hair look which is oh-so-not attractive.

I remember reading an article in an old issue of Seventeen magazine that combing hairspray through your hair is supposed to help. After a couple of hours though I’m back to Frizz City. A spin around Google brought a few results that included using leave-in conditioner and carrying around fabric softener sheets to run against my hair throughout the day. Right…

We have chapstick for lips and the lotion for hands, but what is a girl to do about her hair? I’m thisclose to offering myself to the Department of Energy to help beat the energy crisis. Maybe I could use my hair to power a Hybrid?

 generatoredited.jpg

 This is what my hair looks like in the wintertime. Okay, not really, but wouldn’t it be really funny if it did? And by funny I mean traumatically awful. I would never leave my room.

17 Comments
  1. Gayle permalink
    December 5, 2007 2:46 PM

    I’ve heard rubbing dryer sheets on your head helps manage the frizz. For real. I never tried it because it just sounds wrong. Wow, hows that for a completely unhelpful tidbit?

  2. December 5, 2007 3:24 PM

    I have exactly the same type of hair and exactly the same problem! I tend to use a LOT of conditioner when I wash my hair, which I used to think would make my hair shinier and the problem worse. But it does help. I’ve also discovered a wonderful “hair texturiser” from Molton Brown that seems to keep my hair in check.

  3. Shannon permalink
    December 5, 2007 3:39 PM

    My ionic blow dryer keeps my hair from getting staticy (sp?). It’s definitely worth the investment. It doesn’t cost much more than a normal blow dryer and it dries your hair so much faster.

    Also, spraying Static Guard on your hairbrush and then brushing it through your hair is an old trick.

  4. Allison permalink*
    December 5, 2007 3:45 PM

    Shannon: I have an ionic hair dryer, which I think helps a little bit, but not completely. I also have static in my clothes, so I think I need to actually use those dryer sheets as well.

    Caro: I never use conditioner, mostly because I don’t really need it, but maybe for the sake of my sanity I’ll give it a shot during the winter.

    • Rocha permalink
      January 22, 2010 7:48 AM

      And you have great eyes too!

  5. December 5, 2007 3:49 PM

    I have this same problem. My hair care product of choice is the Biolage Daily Leave-In Tonic (you’ll have to scroll down a bit). I spray it on while my hair is damp after a shower, then brush in. A quick reapply every morning is all it needs. If I remember, that is. =)

  6. December 5, 2007 4:01 PM

    Allison

    Nice picture of you as a kid — who took it? 🙂

    The winter dryness is so bad, I often dream of moving back to Ireland for the season.

  7. Sara permalink
    December 5, 2007 4:03 PM

    I use conditioner and an ionic hair dryer. Redkin All Soft shampoo and conditioner is the best I have found.

  8. Allison permalink*
    December 5, 2007 4:04 PM

    Bernard: LOL – That isn’t me! Unless you were kidding… I hope you were kidding. That girl doesn’t look anything like me.

    I would have thought with all the humidity the East Coast gets during the summer, the winters would be a little bit better, but I guess not…

  9. Minnesota Nice permalink
    December 5, 2007 7:25 PM

    Static Guard works for me – but forget the hairbrush step – just spray it directly on your hair (lightly).

  10. December 5, 2007 7:50 PM

    hah! I know this sounds kinda weird, but I put some lotion on my hair–I usually put it on my hands or body first (that part is normal), then the remnants I use on my hair to calm the frizz. It works pretty well for me. I have thick hair that never looks prim and proper, but a little lotion calms it the hell down.

  11. December 5, 2007 8:09 PM

    Oh, I have all three of these problems, too. I used to use Aveeno lotion on my hands but that’s not cutting it any more. I need to find something stronger. Even the dryer sheets I use aren’t doing a thing to combat the static right now. It’s awful. My car just about kills me with a static shock every. single. time. I get in or out of it.

    As for the hair, well, children running their sticky little fingers thru it a few times a day helps somewhat, but it’s sort of haphazard. One clump is stuck to my head (or my glasses or my face) and a huge hunk is sort of perpendicular to the ground. Straight static is a better look, believe it or not.

  12. December 11, 2007 10:50 PM

    I have thin hair also, and to tame the winter static I use a small amount ( dime-nickel size) of gel at my roots and then at the ends of my hair when I style it (I like Panteen’s Volumizing Gel). Then I spray it in place with aerosol hairspray (Suave’s Volumizing Max Hold works great-just be sure to hold it the 8 inches away). Volumizing products that have hold factor is the key- they keep the hair in place without flattening it completely. And Dove body wash works great for dry skin- our air just north of you is just as dry:)

  13. December 15, 2007 11:32 PM

    I have the SAME PROBLEM!! Can you imagine??
    🙂

  14. emily permalink
    April 17, 2009 10:08 AM

    woah that is a very bad hair day !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (me in the morning!!!)

  15. June 2, 2009 9:11 AM

    Hey, this website is soooo cool! jus give it a go!

  16. mabel permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:31 AM

    I also static my hand to touch my friends…
    it’s strong!!…

Comments are closed.