Skip to content

I Am A Happy Diabetic… and Other Declarative Statements.

November 26, 2007

According to WordPress’s Blog Stats, most of the time when people use a search engine to find my blog they have entered in the following keywords: my name, the words “ironing”, “board” and “cleaning” (I believe this is used when searching for images, because the image of the lady vacuuming is what shows up in Google Images), New York landmarks, the word “diabetes” alone or in some context and/or some random noun in a recent blog post (most recently: “August Rush,” “Elizabeth Perkins” and “Al Roker”).

Sometimes, crazier things show up. For instance, today, someone found my blog after searching the phrase “I am a happy diabetic.” Now, I’m sure at some point I have written those words – though I don’t remember when or where – but I thought that it was terrific that someone would find my blog after searching that phrase because, yes, I do consider myself a happy diabetic. A somewhat unhinged diabetic at times, but happy nonetheless.

Here are a few more gems from the past week:

“my eye hurts when i blink” – maybe you have a corneal infection?

“JDRF ACTIVITIES IN N.Y.C” – you should probably check out the JDRF NYC chapter website

“delaware water gap, PA rail station” – Delaware Water Gap is a beautiful place, but unfortunately, I drove there

“christmas couch” – sounds festive!

“proper disposal of lancets in hospitals” – hopefully you read my post on safe needle disposal programs

“GUH” – I know how you feel

In other news:

A couple of people have asked me this week about the progress of the conference, and now with Amy’s post, I’m sure even more of you are wondering what’s going on.

I wish I had some positive news to give you, but unfortunately I don’t. I have been swamped the past month or so with other projects, so I haven’t had a chance to work on this as fully as I was over the summer. I have not given up hope on the conference though, but my personal projection is that we’ll see something sometime in 2009. Hopefully sooner, but there’s no guarantees.

I will keep you all posted.

4 Comments
  1. November 26, 2007 9:47 PM

    christmas couch? hahah.. that’s an interesting one.

  2. November 27, 2007 9:53 AM

    hah…too funny!

    i hope things lighten up on your schedule so we can aim for late 2008 or early 2009. I’m willing to help you with the conference in any way you need. Let me know.
    🙂 Amylia

  3. November 27, 2007 10:44 AM

    The conference is a great idea – please let me know if I can be of any help.

  4. November 27, 2007 5:15 PM

    Well, if it’s in 2009 I will almost be an adult with type 1! So then I could actually go…

Comments are closed.