Skip to content

Whirlwind of People.

November 23, 2007

Gah! So much has happened just since Wednesday night I hardly know where to start!

Well, I suppose I’ll get the quick ‘n’ dirty out of the way. The Angry Eye seems to be chilling out a bit more now. I saw the eye doctor (again) this morning and he said the infection is down 70% – yay! Now I only have to take the medicated eye drops every two hours and while I can still feel it whenever I blink, it does not feel like there is a 2×4 in my eyeball. Which is great.

Now that we have the obligatory health stuff out of the way, on to the fun stuff:

On Wednesday, I took the train into NYC to see a reader, Gayle, who had emailed me a few weeks back after I wrote a post about being homesick. She offered to meet me for coffee or drinks. Last week, while at the U.N. (I just love saying that by the way) I managed to forget my wonderful Nine West coat on a chair. It was picked up by a staff member who helped organize the event, and she told me she was coming back to the city on Wednesday and could leave it with the concierge. I decided that would be a great time to see Gayle since I would have to be in the city anyway and didn’t really want to come all the way in just to leave again. This was, of course, before all the eye drama, but once Wednesday rolled around, I decided to forge ahead, angry eye be damned.

Let me say this about Gayle (and she knows this too, so I know I’m not offending her): I have never met anyone so excited to meet another diabetic. Gayle doesn’t know very many people (if any, as I recall) with diabetes. I know a lot of people who don’t know anyone else with diabetes, but Gayle is the first person to ever applaud when I tested my blood sugar before dinner. No, seriously. She clapped. Audibly clapped. At the dinner table. And she did again when I took out my insulin pump to bolus. It was adorable.

We chatted about life with diabetes (since age 19 for her, since age 8 for me), we talked about insulin pumps (we have the same one – Minimed), we talked about endocrinologists (we have the same one!) at Naomi Berrie, we talked about tricks of the trade (she keeps a reservoir full of insulin in her testing kit in case she runs out of insulin). We ate at a wonderful Italian restaurant on 45th and Ninth Avenue called Cascina and split a yummy chocolate souflee. We walked a bit, and talked even more. We talked about normal people stuff: noisy apartments, crowded subways, our jobs, and boys. We gossiped about the O.C. (“George is so fucking funny!” – Gayle) as if we all went to the same high school. We talked for awhile about blogging and about comment protocol (“the more, the better”). We sat outside of the Borders at Madison Square Garden for over an hour before I headed back to New Jersey and she headed back uptown.

Turkey Day arrived, and my vision threatened to strike every time I got in the car, so driving has been a bit tricky. My cornea nerves are irritated because of the infection, making me very sensitive to light and boy is it bright outside! I almost miss the overcast winter months in Oregon. I spent Thanksgiving with my dad’s cousin and her family, and we had the traditional Thanksgiving dinner. A couple minor changes: first, we fried the turkey by putting oil in the same barrel that my cousin uses to brew homemade beer and it was delicious and took only half an hour, there were no yams with marshmellows (which is probably for the best for this diabetic who can’t count carbs properly to save her life), I ate string bean casserole for the first time (NJ is bring a lot of unexpected firsts for me) and we ate our pumpkin pie with chocolate ice cream. Crazy, no? I thought you could only have vanilla ice cream with pie. Shows what I know. Blood sugar managed to stay pretty stable the first couple of hours, but I attribute that to the wine. Once the wine was out of my system I stayed steady in the 250th no matter how much correcting I did (even when I woke up at 6 a.m. to go to the bathroom I was 241). I also played doctor with my five-year-old cousin Rachel and after her mother popped in Bambi, spent at least twenty minutes with the grown-ups discussing the psychologist disturbances found in Disney and other children’s entertainment.

I woke up early to go to the eye doctor’s (see first paragraph) before catching the train to NYC to meet up with Sri, a new blogger and frequent commenter. He posted on Facebook that he was going to be in the area and wanted to meet up with people, so I took him up on the request. We met up at B & H Photo and then walked to 46th and Tenth Avenue for Ethiopian food. I’m fairly certain I haven’t had Ethiopian food before, and if I have, I don’t remember it. It was fabulous, and I recommend hunting down an Ethiopian restaurant near you or just come to NYC and I’ll take you! Sri is a scientist, so we spent our lunch talking about biology and diabetes technology, which I always love because I don’t usually meet people who know that much about biochemistry. Most of the time people are just theorizing, so it’s nice to meet someone who can explain things and know what they’re talking about. We also talked a bit about photography, and the lunch once again reinforced that I need to stop squandering my money on books and shoes and save it for a nice, new Nikon DSLR (probably a D40 like the one Kerri bought).

It is ridiculously cold today, with a pretty strong wind, which my eye did not like too much. Though, as I told Sri, I like when it gets this cold during the winter time because it assures me that the world isn’t ending today. And probably not tomorrow either.

12 Comments
  1. November 23, 2007 5:59 PM

    What about the day after tomorrow? Sorry, I couldn’t resist😉 (assumingbyou’ve seen the movie)

    Seriously though, sounds like you’ve had a great few days. Maybe one day I’ll get to meet some other bloggers – there aren’t too many close to me. Glad your eye is on the mend.

  2. November 23, 2007 6:12 PM

    I’m sure your NJ fried turkey looked nicer than the one my sons did in KS.
    I’m glad your eye is doing better.

  3. November 23, 2007 6:13 PM

    Aw, aside from the eye nonsense, that sounds like fun! How cool to get to see a few bloggers in real life.🙂

  4. November 23, 2007 6:42 PM

    Eye craziness aside, sounds like you have had a pretty good few days. How great to meet more O.C.ers!

  5. November 23, 2007 8:30 PM

    Wow, Allison! You have been busy!

    Places to go, People to see, Things to do…

    Something like that. Anyway, I’m glad your eye in on the mend.

  6. Allison permalink*
    November 23, 2007 9:37 PM

    Caro: It took me a few reads, but I finally got it! And then I felt really stupid.

    Colleen: It was delicious! I still want to take you up on your offer, but I think it might be better to wait ’til the weather is nicer!

    Beth: If you and the hubby want to take a road trip down to Portland next month, just holler…

    Jillian: Yes, it has been fun. Planning a Philly meet-up in the near future, so I’ll keep you posted!

    Donna: Or as I prefer, Place to go, Things to see, People to do… hehehe. Okay, okay, not really, but in my land of make believe that is populated by only hot guys!

  7. November 24, 2007 5:30 AM

    glad your eye is getting better and you met a nother reader. i love the bit about gossiping about the OC like high school buds.🙂

  8. landileigh permalink
    November 24, 2007 11:47 AM

    i’ve met many people from another online forum and always am amazed at how normal and non-ax-murdering they are. after reading everyone’s blogs, you start to feel as if we are all friends and this is just “having a conversation”. thanks to beth and amylia for listing you on their blogrolls, you have become a favorite of mine to read.

  9. November 24, 2007 7:31 PM

    Oh yay Philly! My sister lives there, so it would be something I could actually get to.

  10. November 25, 2007 1:05 PM

    Errr….I’m no scientist. I’m just another disillusioned software geek who wanted to be a doctor.

  11. November 25, 2007 6:25 PM

    Glad to hear the eye is getting better.

    Sounds like a whirwind of mostly good stuff for you! Cool! And yes, G-Money IS pretty damn funny!

  12. Gayle permalink
    November 27, 2007 1:48 PM

    Woo-hoo!! (clap clap clap) My first d-blog shout out! Ah, so many firsts when you’re a newbie…😉

Comments are closed.