Skip to content

Attack of the Angry Eye

November 21, 2007

You know when you get an rogue eyelash and it attaches itself to your eye, and every time you blink it feels like there is a small stick poking at your pupil? Yeah, that’s what it felt like.

When my eye started to get red and irritated at work on Monday, I just thought my contacts were dirty. Even though I went to CVS and bought contact fluid, my eye still didn’t like contacts, so I elected to work from home so I could get my glasses (an old pair that neither fit properly nor have the right prescription).

All day long my eye hurt. It was a bit sensitive to light and I would lose focus and get a tad dizzy every once in awhile. When I closed my eyes, it didn’t hurt, but every time I blinked it hurt. And considering you blink about 80,000 times a minute, it hurt pretty much all the time.

“I think it might be pink eye,” I instant messaged Christine. “But I don’t really have any of the symptoms.”

The next morning, it still hurt but was a bit less red. Between Thanksgiving and my upcoming dinner plans in NYC, I didn’t want to take any chances.

I called my ophthamologist’s office and made an appointment for later that afternoon and pretended to work from home, though I kept crawling back into bed where my eye didn’t hurt.

After waiting about forty minutes for the doctor, I was finally brought into the room. I described my symptoms: started later in the morning after I had put my contacts in, redness, scratchiness, a little bit sensitive to light. He flashed some incredibly bright lights in my eyes and pressed down on my eye which elicited an “Ouch!”

A few minute later he said, “Well, you have what is called a corneal ulcer.”

Excuse me?

Using a dummy eyeball, he explained that it was a small bacterial infection on my cornea. I prefer the word “infection.” Ulcer just sounds scary. Well, at least it’s not pink eye… I thought, trying to make this sound not as bad as it was. So that’s why my eye is so angry with me right now.

“We’re going to start you on a heavy dose of antibiotics and no contacts,” he explained. “And I want to see you tomorrow morning.”

I picked up a prescription for the medicated eyedrops from Walgreens and then went to the mall to treat myself to new glasses. While the diagnosis of a corneal infection just bites, I was able to find a really great pair of blue Hugo Boss glasses that were on clearance that were an additional 50% off, and then the lenses were also 50% off. It was a steal at under $140! I’m actually really excited about these glasses, which is great because I will need to wear them for at least two weeks, possibly longer.

My appointment this morning went well enough. No signs of the infection getting worse, though being that I’m a diabetic, the ophthalmologist wants to see me back again on Friday. He tells me that I will probably take much longer to heal than a non-diabetic (gee, really? You mean that’s where the half dozen blister scars on my feet came from?). I’m going to try to really ramp up my control especially during these two weeks. No more of these wayward 200s. My eyes can’t handle it right now.

Well, time for some eye drops.

9 Comments
  1. November 21, 2007 3:42 PM

    I’m glad you found out what was going on with the eye. I hate when doctor’s state the obvious about diabetes. Good luck wrangling in those numbers. Happy Early Thanksgiving!

  2. November 21, 2007 3:47 PM

    Ouch, Allison,
    How did you get a corneal ulcer? I want to make sure I don’t get something like this. Ooooo!

    I’m glad you found some glasses you like. The ones I have are a few years old & out of date, too. But I usually only wear them at night at home so that works out okay. I hate shopping for new ones – I look ridiculous in trendy glasses. So I try to stick to the basic gold wire rims. You need to let us see these new glasses you got. You’re right; $140 is a steal!

    I hope your eye gets better quickly. That’s got to be irritating!

  3. November 21, 2007 5:11 PM

    THOSE SUCK! I’ve gotten those from severe dry eyes. If I’m sleeping and wakeup suddenly, my eyelid will actually stick to the top of the eye and pull a little a little piece off. Gross I know. Painful too. Hope your on the mend quickly now.

    BTW, Have a terrific Thanksgiving!

  4. November 21, 2007 5:20 PM

    Allison

    Sorry to hear about it, that sounds painful. I hope it magically heals up extra quickly.

    Have an excellent Thanksgiving.

  5. November 21, 2007 5:44 PM

    That sucks about your eye. But at least you know what it is now. I hope it feels much better and heals quickly.
    Have a great Thanksgiving.

  6. November 21, 2007 6:06 PM

    You’ve been tagged! So, here are the rules:
    1. Link to the person’s blog who tagged you.
    2. Post these rules on your blog.
    3. List seven random and/or weird facts about yourself.
    4. Tag seven random people at the end of your post.
    5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
    🙂

  7. November 22, 2007 12:00 AM

    Hi Allison. That sounded awful. A cornial ulcer? I sure hope it clears up fast for you, and that you aren’t in too much more discomfort. Eye pain is no picnic.

    I hope you have a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

  8. November 22, 2007 1:54 AM

    yikes!
    that doesn’t sound like fun. glad you know what it is and that you will be okay. thinking of you! happy thanksgiving.

Trackbacks

  1. Day One « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.