Skip to content

Tuesday’s Seven.

November 20, 2007

Gina, Pearlsa and Allison have tagged me for another rousing rendition of “The Random Seven,” so here we go:

1. Link to the person’s blog who tagged you.
2. Post these rules on your blog.
3. List seven random and/or weird facts about yourself. I’ll try my best!
4. Tag seven random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
5. Let each person know that they have been tagged by posting a comment on their blog.

1. I don’t eat red meat. I stopped eating it my junior year in high school when going vegetarian/not eating red meat was the “cool thing to do” amongst my friends. Later I stopped eating pork, followed by chicken. But I eventually went back to eat both pork and chicken. But not red meat. I just don’t like it. The last time I had it was actually three years ago: it was a Philly cheesesteak from, you guessed it, Philadelphia.

2. I’m 5’8″. Okay, not that random, but this summer, when Sandra and her family picked me up at O’Hare in Chicago she said, “You’re taller than I expected!” and I wondered how tall people think I actually am.

3. I have a Livejournal that I have had for almost four years. It’s for my high school friends and I used to write in it a lot more when I was in college.

4. In high school, I had a small obsession with Moby. When I came to New York in 2004, I dragged my friend Deirdre to his restaurant near Chinatown. I still like Moby, but I’m not nearly that crazy about him. Funny thing is, he’s old enough to be my dad but I swear I wanted to marry him.

5. My best girlfriends and I call ourselves the Sex and the Linn girls (Porlanders will get that reference). I’m Charlotte.

6. I have been in the ICU twice. First, when I was born, I had a low heart rate and they kept me for four days before figuring out that I was fine and that was just the way I am. I still have a low heart rate and doctors still comment on how low it is. The second time was when I was diagnosed with diabetes, of course.

7. I am a huge Trekkie. I was first introduced to Captain Picard and his crew when I was eight years old, before I even understood the plotlines. I would watch with my dad and he would tell me what was going on during the commercial breaks. After awhile it became my own thing and was a huge fan of Star Trek: Voyager. One of my first internet meet-ups was with a group of other teen girls who were Trekkies. I’ve met a few of the actors, including Grace Lee Whitney from the Original Series.

Not tagging anyone because I swear everyone has been tagged already… if you’re reading this and haven’t been tagged, consider yourself tagged!

Oh, and I still have The Angry Eye, so I made a doctor’s appointment for this afternoon. More to come!

9 Comments
  1. November 20, 2007 2:08 PM

    With Thanksgiving coming around, the real question is, do you eat turkey?
    The Turkeys all want to know.

    Hope your eye gets better!

  2. November 20, 2007 4:08 PM

    Star Trek: Voyager is awesome. Grew up watchin that one and DS9.

    Funny how the new Amazon Kindle resembles the little data things they’d pass to each other.

  3. Allison permalink*
    November 20, 2007 4:26 PM

    Mandy: Haha, yes, I eat turkey. The only thing I don’t eat is red meat, which is just all cow-related products: hamburgers, steak, beef-anything. So, turkeys better watch out!

    Albert: Yes, huge fan! I met The Doctor, Lt. Paris and Naomi Wildman. All very nice people. I should tell you The Doctor meeting story sometime, it’s very funny!

  4. November 20, 2007 5:42 PM

    Pork is now considered red meat, and you are taller than I would have expected.

  5. November 20, 2007 7:00 PM

    Allison,
    Sorry you’re still having eye trouble. I hope they get it figured out at your appointment. Good luck!

  6. Allison permalink*
    November 20, 2007 8:41 PM

    Jillian: You know, that’s originally why I gave it up, but honestly, I like bacon too much. Bacon and the occasional ham luncheon meat are pretty much what I eat. I only eat pork chops at restaurants because I don’t really like pork chops unless it’s done well by a professional chef. I’m weird!

  7. November 21, 2007 12:17 AM

    I didn’t think you were that tall.. of course that might be because I’m 5’7” so I wouldn’t have noticed ! good luck with your eye!

  8. November 21, 2007 10:36 AM

    Allison-

    I’m a bit over 5′ 4″ — so from my vantage point, your height definitely made an impression.🙂

    And I love it that you’re a Trekkie– reruns of the original Star Trek got me hooked. William Shatner was awesomely over the top.

    But when Next Generation came out, it was all Jean-Luc… oh that name… oh that accent!

Trackbacks

  1. Okay, fine. I yield. « Plastic Pancreas

Comments are closed.