Skip to content

Blahhh-guh.

November 19, 2007

I feel like crap.

I woke up (late) this morning with a blood sugar of 59 mg/dl. Flippin’ fantastic. Usually my body is wonderful and gives me such advance notice of these things, but not today.

Worked on my laptop for about half an hour because I didn’t have the strength to get dressed.

After I got dressed and drove to work, I noticed that my contact in my left eye was starting to bother me. I thought it would got away, but it just got worse. After an hour or so, I went to the bathroom and saw that my left eyes was completely blood shot. I took a quick break and went to CVS to buy some contact fluid, thinking that it was just dirty.

But my eye was so irritated that no amount of contact fluid calmed it down. It was angry. An angry eye. An angry, bitchy eye.

Grrr.

I decided to work from home this afternoon. As soon as I got to my apartment I took out my contact and found my glasses that I hardly wear anymore because they don’t fit me well (they somehow got warped in The Move) and the prescription is about six years old. Works great for reading and working on the computer, but not so much for anything else. I suppose I should get by some eye drops, but it looks like the redness is going down. Buying contact fluid this morning is one thing, I always need contact fluid – it’s like insulin – but buying eye drops that I will never use just seems like a waste of money.

On top of that, I think I’m getting sick. I felt nauseated a little while ago and I’m freezing, even though I’m wearing a sweater. And my head hurts because of my eye. My eye hurts and my head hurts and I have an article due tomorrow. I’m a miserable human being.

Welcome to my blahhhh-guh.

7 Comments
  1. November 19, 2007 6:48 PM

    Guh! I sympathise. I actually have a pretty sore right eye after my contact lens somehow got stuck in there this weekend. I was perhaps a little over zealous in my repeated attempts at removal! We have a good pair of eyes between us!

    Just curious though… you mention contact fluid. I never use it since switching to daily disposables. No cleaning, just a new pair every day (do I sound like an ad?) and I’m almost 100% sure they work out cheaper for me – although I do go through periods of exclusive glasses wearing too, so perhaps that helps. Definitely minimises infection risk. Just a thought…

    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. November 19, 2007 7:33 PM

    Allison,
    Sorry you’re not feeling well. It seems to be that time of year….

    I have arguments with my contacts from time to time, too. They usually win & I end up wearing my ugly glasses for a couple of days until my contacts like me again. I hope yours start liking you again soon. Hope you feel better, too.

  3. Allison permalink*
    November 19, 2007 7:40 PM

    Caro: Yeah, I have monthly contacts. According to my insurance, they pay 100% of my contact lens purchase, though I haven’t had to get a new order on my new insurance, though I will soon.

    Donna: Yeah, I think it’s actually the cold right now. It doesn’t seem like the heat in my apartment goes up very high (it’s an old complex and I don’t have a thermostat).😦

  4. November 19, 2007 7:59 PM

    I’ve already been there; I am still recovering from pseudo-pneumonia (only my right lung had fluid in it, not both, so it couldn’t have been pneumonia … so they told me). I certainly felt awful, and I NEVER even get a cold during the winter!! I have learned to carry glasses with me because you never know when contacts are going to get really uncomfortable, but I can’t drive home completely blind!

  5. Allison permalink*
    November 19, 2007 8:11 PM

    Scott: A couple weeks ago I had a contact fall out and I went through 5 hours of meetings before telling my boss that I couldn’t read the computer screen without getting dizzy. I could drive home just fine, it was just very weird… Not something I recommend! I should just buy new glasses. These would be useless when I drive because the prescription is so outdated.

  6. November 19, 2007 10:37 PM

    Okay where is this going? For days you’ve seemed out of sorts. Homesick or just sick? Chicken soup works if you’re sick with a cold. Doesn’t work so good with the flu. I wonder if anybody delivers chicken soup?

  7. November 20, 2007 2:20 AM

    Hi Allison,
    Hope you are feeling better. I tagged you on my blog check it out!

Comments are closed.