Skip to content

Meh?

November 18, 2007

We’re on Day 18 of this month-long challenge of writing something everyday. But I have a little secret to tell you:

I’m boring.

No, really.

Though after this past week of excitement, I certainly appreciated the downtime of the weekend. What did I do? Well, I returned a pair of red patent leather flats that I bought last weekend at DSW and exchanged them for a larger size and then returned a pink sweater from Old Navy and bought a pair of green leather loafers from Nine West that were on sale. On Saturday, I spent a couple hours at the mall, trying to get ideas for Christmas presents. Unfortunately, my parents are now using this blog to check in on me so I can’t bounce off any ideas. I also bought couple button-down blouses from Banana Republic, even though they weren’t on sale because I’m one of those girls who has a very difficult time with those kinds of tops (ladies, you know what I mean…).

Last night I chilled out at home, cleaned my room, watched some TV and worked on a couple of freelance projects.

Then today, I slept in ridiculously late, went grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s, picked up my new, enlarged prescription of insulin from CVS. Somehow the insurance company came under the assumption that I only need five bottles of insulin to last me three months. When I lived in Oregon, I received three bottles once a month. I have no idea how the messages got mixed about but I was literally running out of insulin last week. Yeah, try going through World Diabetes Day knowing you have three and half days of insulin left… kinda puts things into a unique perspective. Anyway, made a couple of phone calls to my doctor and she called in a new prescription on Tuesday for nine bottles of insulin (or 3 bottles a month). Picked up one bottle on Wednesday, and then the rest today. I have one bottle of insulin at work, and I have 8 bottles of insulin sitting in my fridge. With all these bottles at once, I kinda feel like I have lifetime supply of insulin… except for, you know, not.

Came home and made dinner using ingredients from TJ’s, which ended up not tasting as good as I’d hoped. Now I’m getting ready to spend a couple of hours working on, well, work before starting our two and half day workweek. Yes! Thanksgiving! I’m actually excited because I’m going down to my dad’s cousin’s house. It will be nice to see family.

See you tomorrow!

5 Comments
  1. November 19, 2007 3:46 AM

    your “boring” weekend sounds nice. I like down time. Preparing a nice meal from TJ’s even if it didn’t turn out as well as you’d hoped sounds nice. Shopping and indulging in a few things sure sounds nice, too. I believe in purchasing things not on sale if they fit well and are what you need, esp. if it’s a challenging clothing item, as we ladies do understand.

    Enjoy Thanksgiving. I almost forgot about it being here in Taiwan. They have Xmas stuff up everywhere, but no one cares about my favorite holiday, Thanksgiving!

  2. November 19, 2007 4:30 PM

    Allison

    I’m glad you’ll spend Thanksgiving with some family. That’s always fun to do, especially if you’ve not spent too much time with them before.

    And your weekend sounds like it was a lot of fun. Mine was double-meh and I was perfectly fine with that.

  3. November 19, 2007 5:35 PM

    Your not boring but You could spice it up a little. You said your mom and dad are reading your blog. Well, you could have some fun……I’m sorry that sounded like fun until I wrote it. Your not boring.

  4. November 19, 2007 7:30 PM

    Allison,
    Sounds like a good weekend to me. I like doing that kind of stuff. Not feeling rushed or trying to meet a deadline is nice.

    I know what you mean about having so much insulin in the fridge at one time. I get my three month supply all in one shipment. So there are times when the door of my fridge is full of nothing but insulin. It’s like a security blanket. I like it.

  5. November 20, 2007 11:37 AM

    Hi Allison,

    Hope you’re feeling better! I tagged you over at my blog, check it out when you get a chance.

    :o) Allison

Comments are closed.