Skip to content

Obsessions.

November 13, 2007

It was a Saturday afternoon. I was at the ridiculously enormous mall five miles from my apartment. Lord & Taylor, Bloomingdale’s, Macy’s… it’s a wonder I’m not drowning in a pile of credit card debt. After grabbing a quick bite to eat at the food court (it was a salad! I was good!), I started to meander around the mall.

So many stores. So many people. Urge to kill rising… ahem.

Then I saw it.

Right in front of me. A store I had completely forgotten about. Rarely encountered.

CO Bigelow. For the unitiatied, CO Bigelow is like a high-end Bath & Body.

And they have lip gloss. The best tasting lip gloss – the kind that taste like the flavor too, not just smells like it and feels a sticky glue taste on your tongue. 

Trying to contain myself and not look like an idiot running into a beauty store, I scanned the store for their cosmetics section. When I found it, all I saw was eyeshadow and foundation.

“Excuse me, do you still sell the peppermint lipgloss,” I asked the saleslady.

“Sure we do,” she said. She brought me over to the seasonal section. It was definitely peppermint, but it looked completely different from the lipgloss my friend Annie gave me for my birthday last year – and the kind I was dying to replace.

“Thanks,” I lied. I went back over the cosmetics. Maybe I had missed it….

“Can I help you find something?” another lady asked.

“Yeah, is this the only flavored lipglosses you have? My friend gave me one for my birthday but it doesn’t look like this,” I rambled.

“Sure,” the lady replied. She brought me over to the registers, where two large clear containers of lipglosses sat waiting.

And then I saw it:

menthlcinnamintlarge.jpg

 

Cinnamon Mentha Lip Shine. The kind that tastes like it’s name. And oh so deliciously shiny.

They were selling them for two for $10, so I picked up a new flavor: Spearmint.

Very holiday season, don’t you think?

I’m obsessed.

And you should be too.

11 Comments
  1. November 13, 2007 3:56 PM

    I love those too! I have one that is so raggedy from living in any purse I carry that I can only tell that the tube is green, it’s CO Bigelow and says Mentha Lip Tint on it.

  2. November 13, 2007 9:42 PM

    Don’t you just love it when you find something you’ve been searching for like this? Just makes your day. I’m glad they had it.

  3. November 13, 2007 11:32 PM

    I am totally addicted to those! Right now I have Vanilla Cola in my purse, Orange Cream in my Car and the Peppermint next to my night stand. Like I always say…it’s the little things!

  4. November 14, 2007 4:43 AM

    Sounds like a nice treat for yourself. I’ll try to remember the tip if I’m ever in a CO Biegelow store, but I’ve never even heard of the store before. Yay for lipgloss, the good stuff!

  5. November 14, 2007 4:44 AM

    P.S. Do they list how many carbs are in that? 🙂

  6. November 14, 2007 11:03 AM

    Now everyone who visits your site will want to kiss you. Be careful when you meet new people. Do I have your attention…okay…now pucker up.

  7. Gayle permalink
    November 14, 2007 5:06 PM

    Fyi, the original Bigelow’s is a great nyc pharmacy (and i’ve been to a ton of them). It’s on 6th ave, between 8th and 9th streets. Their customer service is amazing…I trek downtown, despite that it’s a tad out of my way, b/c its better than any duane reade/cvs/etc. pharmacy I’ve ever been to. And no, I don’t work for Bigelows😉 My point is, if you’re in town, it’s a fun shop to visit. You can p/u prescriptions AND the yummiest lip gloss all at the same time. Woo hoo!

  8. November 15, 2007 4:59 PM

    Thank goodness I am not the only one obsessed with that stuff. I was beginning to wonder if I had a problem or something. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Static. « Lemonade Life
  2. What I Love to Love. « Lemonade Life
  3. Today’s blog post is brought to you by the letter L « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.