Skip to content

Sincerely Yours.

November 9, 2007

I know I talk a lot about getting involved in the community and how I meet people with diabetes like it’s a hobby.

But really:

To everyone who posted a note to my earlier post Imaginary and to everyone who thought about writing one, or sent good thoughts and prayer, and especially to the one reader who sent me a note about getting together for coffee (I haven’t forgotten you! Just really, really slow this week…):

Thank You.

From the bottom of my heart, you have no idea how wonderful it was to know that we can connect not only on a Diabetic-level, but on a Real Person-level too.

The point of D-Blog Day is to celebrate the community that we have created as diabetes bloggers. This year, I don’t think I have ever been so appreciative of having this place. From giving me guidance regarding finding a job (three cheers for Sean Hughes!), to celebrating my college graduation with some of the OC’s finest in Manhattan in March, to exploring my new neck of the woods with Mel, Bernard and Jill and taking time to be there for me either physically or spiritually. Blogging has certainly changed my life, and I personally think it was for the better.

One of my favorite things is knowing that I have people who care about me, in all four corners of the globe (literally!).

dblogday.jpg

Thank you for being there for me.

And no matter what happens or when it happens,

I promise to always try to be there for you.

21 Comments
  1. November 9, 2007 3:49 PM

    Allison, you are officially the best. Please don’t give up on the idea of some kind of conference for Adults with Type 1. There needs to be a physical place for us, too.

    Happy D-blog Day!

    – AmyT

  2. November 9, 2007 3:52 PM

    I will take the bottom left hand corner of our country!

    You have been a very important part of keeping this community together and anyone who does not think the OC can big part in one’s life has obviously not read your blog.

    Thanks for being the person you are Allison. You rock!

  3. November 9, 2007 3:59 PM

    Thank you seems to be a theme today. Thanks so much for being my first comment on a post I accidentally deleted. You are one of the main reasons this community is so great. I am glad to know there are wonderful people out there willing to help me even though they have never met me. You are an inspiration!

  4. November 9, 2007 4:22 PM

    I’m the upper left side of the country! Literally, 20 miles from Canada🙂

    Thanks, Allison, for the official OC page, the hub of all blogs, and for all the work you do there and in community building in general🙂

  5. November 9, 2007 4:27 PM

    Ditto! What they said. =) You have given so much of yourself for all of us. I hope you really do know that we are here for you as well. You are the original Rockstar!

  6. November 9, 2007 4:30 PM

    🙂 Thanks for all that you’ve done too!!! I didn’t get a chance to post on your previous post that you mentioned, but I was one of those was thinking and praying for you. Hopefully life will slow down someday and commenting can start happening again. I feel a bit estranged from the community!!

  7. November 9, 2007 5:19 PM

    I’m writing this from my little corner in the UK! It would be easy for me to feel isolated as one of a very small minority of UK diabetes bloggers… but that just isn’t the way this community works. Thank you Allison, not only for being at the helm, but also for sharing your own experiences so candidly.

  8. Allison permalink*
    November 9, 2007 5:34 PM

    Yeah, so I totally started crying a little bit at work after reading Amy’s and George’s comments. Thanks a lot guys!

    No really. Thanks.🙂

  9. November 9, 2007 5:58 PM

    Allison, I too am grateful for all that you do– from your willingness to put yourself out there (on this site and in person) to all of the hard work you do to grow and maintain this Diabetes Online Community.

    Oh yes, young lady– you do indeed rock!

  10. November 9, 2007 6:11 PM

    Thank you, too!

  11. November 9, 2007 6:41 PM

    Thanks for all that you do for all of us, and thanks for your own words and candidness. You totally get a hug when I see you in person. When will I make it to NYC? Not sure yet, but maybe once the Pennsylvania dust settles a tad, I can make some plans. You’re a doll. Happy d-blog day! 🙂

  12. November 9, 2007 7:23 PM

    You have given of yourself so beautifully. You gave me great advice and was one of the first to post on my blog. You made me feel more normal since my diagnosis and I thank you! If you ever need a lower right corner of the US, I’m here!

    Happy D-blog Day!

  13. November 9, 2007 7:59 PM

    Thank you for the O.C.
    Thank you for sharing your ups and downs.
    Thank you for being a phenomenal young woman.
    Thank you for your enthusiasm.
    Thank you for being YOU!

  14. Sara permalink
    November 9, 2007 9:53 PM

    Well – no one else has claimed it – so the bottom right side of the country is on board to thank you as well!😉

    Seriously, if I hadn’t stumbled on your blog one day messing around in blogger I have no idea where I or my diabetes would be today!

  15. November 10, 2007 2:01 AM

    Happy D-Blog Day, Allison!

  16. November 10, 2007 8:02 AM

    Allison

    You know I’ll be in the Irish part of your country, because all good countries have an Irish section.

    I’m blessed to know you as a friend and I appreciate all you do to encourage both the diabetes community and make things better for all of us.

    Happy D-Blog day and here’s to a great year ahead for all of us!

  17. November 10, 2007 5:01 PM

    You’re welcome and thank you for being there.

  18. November 11, 2007 5:40 PM

    Allison,

    Thank YOU for all that you do for us. Can’t wait to hang out sometime!

  19. November 11, 2007 6:38 PM

    Allison,

    i appreciate everything you do for this community. So thank you.

    G

  20. November 12, 2007 1:12 AM

    Allison (a beautiful name and I got it right this time!),
    Okay, I’m late, as usual. Thank you for all you do for the diabetes OC. I have been reading your older posts and am so grateful that you post with candor and honesty about the struggles of life with diabetes, and the joys, too. I think it’s great that you are out there, advocating and sharing your thoughts and we’re all blessed to have your blog and your presence in our community.
    You rock!

  21. November 17, 2007 10:25 AM

    Thank you so much for all you do, Allison.

    I know I have been scarce in the commenting division of late, but rest assured that I am reading and appreciating. I’m honored to be the “in” in your “in manhattan”!

Comments are closed.