Skip to content

The Thursday Three

November 8, 2007

In lieu of the Third Annual D-Blog Day tomorrow (which basically is a call to action to have everyone in the blogosphere write a reflective post about diabetes), I am posting my little weekly nuggets today.

And because I’m hell-bent on keeping up with alliteration, you’re only getting three items. Which is good, because I only had three items in my folder to begin with.

1) Starting off we have our Press Release of the Week: Coming straight to my inbox from the fine folks at JDRF (okay, so I’m a tiny bit biased) is word that the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services announced they are issuing billing codes for continuous glucose monitoring technology. What does that mean? That means we finally have legitimate codes to send to our insurance companies when requesting compensation. Now, I don’t think that means that insurance companies are obligated to pay a percentage of the technology, it just means that the code is available for processing. The codes are A9276 for the sensor, A9277 for the transmitter, and A9278 for the receiver and they will be effective starting on January 1, 2008. Very exciting news for those either on the CGMS or in the process of getting one!

2) On Tuesday, I was working at our NYC office and one of the assistants told me that I could use the office of one of our Vice Presidents because she was in Europe. Excellent, right? Turns out this office was overlooking Sixth Avenue and 48th Street, and anyone who knows anything about Manhattan geography knows that these are two of the busiest streets in the city. I had to deal with hours of honking and a frigid office. Almost made me wish I was back in Jersey. But that’s nothing compared to the lives of these folks – Wired magazine has published the winners of Saddest Cubicle Contest, which included 11 entries of pathetic office space that real people actually have to survive in. If you’re a fan of the TV show Office Space, you should definitely have a look… and a laugh.

3) True or False: Catholics have a sense of humor. Give up? Well, according to this little creation, at least someone can take a polarizing moral issue and elicit a few giggles. It’s Umbert the Unborn child and it’s a comic book depicting the adventures of a fetus. If you’re a staunchly politically correct, this might not be for you, but for everyone else, go check it out!

Comments are closed.