Skip to content

Friveday

October 26, 2007

Well, I have to admit a huge gaffe on my part this week. I have been waiting for weeks for my company to give me a laptop to use when I go to our NYC office and on business trips (yeah, my total of one so far), because I can’t access our client or personal drives otherwise. It sucks and makes it hard to get stuff done.

I was told on Monday I would be getting my laptop. But I hadn’t moved all my personal documents onto the main server – everything was on my hard drive. So then the IT guy and I made a plan for Tuesday. But it never happened. Then Wednesday came, and still nothing. Yesterday we made a plan for lunchtime, but I ended up leaving before the IT guy came.

Finally, today arrived. I shut down my computer, the laptop and dock was installed and after a bit of a glitch involving the keyboard, I was on my way.

Then when I logged into my computer, I noticed something. I had to reinstall Firefox. Obviously. Which meant I had no bookmarks. At all. I’m brilliant, no?

So, the Friday Five is going to be a bit bare this week. I actually only found a couple of things that I wanted to share with you all during my week of surfing the internet. Research and blog-hopping has been a little dull this week, actually.

  1. I received a new email from Melanie Seasons, who works for the PR agency representing the Inspired by Diabetes campaign. She wanted to let us know that Elliott Yamin is now the spokesperson for the competition! He is participating as one of the judges, and the donate a package of concert tickets and backstage passes to the U.S. grand prize winners. In addition to the concert tickets for U.S. winners, the U.S. and global winners will still each receive a $5,000 USD contribution to charity and a trip to the U.S. or global Inspired by Diabetes art exhibition. So if you’re an American Idol fan, hop to it!
  2. A few days ago, Rich posted a comment about a treadmill that was attached to a computer console called the Walkstation. The idea is that you can exercise while you work, giving a whole new meaning to multi-tasking. The speed is fairly low (.5-2 mph) while you work, but after an 8 hour work day you have walked a few miles! Don’t get too attached to the idea though. The computer-treadmill-mashup runs about $6500! Click on the link to see a picture.
  3. I’m doing some research on virtual worlds for work right now, and I was just curious to know if anyone has ever logged onto Second Life. Second Life, for those living in a broom closet, is a virtual world created by San Francisco-based Linden Labs. It currently boasts a population of just over 7 million users and is almost entirely user-generated content. Right now a lot of PR agencies are talking about using this as a way to market products and services – already companies like American Apparel and Intel have set up shop in Second Life, and countries, like Sweden, are actually creating virtual landscapes in order to attract tourism. For a group that is so internet-savvy and dependent, what do you think of Second Life? Is this something we should consider tapping into or is it way too out there? Not that I’m planning anything. I actually have never used Second Life, I have just read a lot about it.
  4. Thanks to all the wonderful comments and feedback I have received for my article in Diabetes Self-Management! If you haven’t, you really should check it out. Not because I wrote it, but because George, Penny and Rachel were such excellent interviewees! Amy Tenderich, Dr. William Polonsky and Dr. Bill Quick also tossed in some excellent comments.
  5. I am heading down to Philadelphia this weekend to meet yet another person with diabetes! This time it’s a teen by the name of Jamie who is an active member of my old website, Diabetes Teen Talk. I will be walking with her at the JDRF Walk to Cure Diabetes at the Philadelphia Art Museum. If anyone wants to meet me either at the Walk or afterwards, I’m available until 7pm – that’s when I have to hightail it home so I can not fall asleep at my desk like I almost did this last Monday! Just shoot me an email by Saturday night.
6 Comments
  1. Sara permalink
    October 26, 2007 6:51 PM

    Is it bad that the only time I have heard of Second Life is on CSI:NY when they were using it related to a murder investigation? Man, I suddenly feel old…

  2. October 26, 2007 7:09 PM

    I actually don’t understand how people have time to have a “Second Life”. I don’t seem to have enough time to live my real life – keeping up with emails, blogs, Facebook, paying the bills, going to work, eating, sleeping, managing diabetes…. never mind a second virtual life! I guess I’d also rather be living in the real world than spending hours each day in a virtual one, too.

    I read a magazine article about Second Life around a year ago. It focused on a section of its population who use it solely to “hook-up” if you get my drift!

  3. Allison permalink*
    October 26, 2007 8:18 PM

    Sara: Ha, yeah and they had something similar to it on Law & Order: SVU a few weeks ago. I don’t think it was exactly second life, but it was similar.

    Caro: I don’t understand it either, but I think I might have to join it just to find out why so many of our clients want to use it! It’s hard to come up with strategy when all you know is from magazine articles. From what I can tell, there is a lot more to it than just “you know what” but I’m not sure what would really make me stay. I’m addicted to the computer enough as it is! I don’t need another reason.

  4. October 27, 2007 10:35 PM

    Great article Allison.

    If you’ve a lot of bookmarks you might want to start using del.icio.us to store these. Then you don’t have to rely on a specific computer anymore. For example, you can find my diabetes bookmarks at http://del.icio.us/bernfarr/diabetes.

  5. October 29, 2007 10:51 AM

    I think Dwight on “The Office” was using the Second Life site on last week’s episode… that’s all I know about it though🙂

  6. Allison permalink
    October 29, 2007 11:37 AM

    Yep, I’ve only heard about it from The Office. Jim’s Second Life character had a sweet guitar :o) and Dwight’s could fly.

Comments are closed.