Skip to content

The Fantastically-Excited-It’s-Friday! Five

October 19, 2007

Is it Friday? Really? Please don’t tell me it’s a lie because I’ve been waiting all week for this!

  • Like many of you, I have joined the NaBloPoMo challenge this year. While browsing the official site hosted on Ning, I hopped over to founder Eden Kennedy’s blog, Fussy. While I was there, I saw the funniest .gif (animated picture) ever created. Ever. For real. I don’t know how they made it, but I’m sure glad they did.
  • Have you ever been driving your car or walking down your street when you see a sign that just reeks of grammatical incorrectness? It’s terrible, isn’t it? Well one blog is devoted to capturing those special moments of embarassing usage of quotation marks. It’s aptly named the “blog” of “unnecessary” quotation marks.
  • Halloween is just around the corner (as it’s been since, what, July? I swear Hallmark and the candy companies roll out their schwag earlier and earlier every year…). It’s the time of year where costumes are purchased, slutty girls can get away with barely-there costumes (“This year I’m going as Britney Spears!“) and dead bodies are displayed in pride on the lawn. It’s also the time of year when older kids attempt to spook little kiddies with urban legends, and one website has decided to come clean with the truth behind some of the most famous urban legends. You smell something funny in your hotel room and you’re not quite sure if it’s cigarette smoke or not? It isn’t. Get a new room.
  • Earlier this week I received an email from Jim Graham, the co-owner of Desert Dingo Racing and a participant in this year’s Baja 1000. His team will be driving a near-stock 1969 VW Beetle in the Baja 1000, which is a 1300 mile course will take them from Ensenada to Cabo San Lucas on the southern tip of Baja California. Why am I telling you about Jim and his team? Because two of his team members, Mike Aquino and Richard Palasik, have type 2 diabetes and other members of the team have diabetes in their family. The race, which lasts from November 10 until November 16, coincides with World Diabetes Day (November 14) and they will be driving as the official “World Diabetes Day” car. The team will be live-blogging and live-Twittering the race when they arrive in Mexico on November 9, the day before the race starts. You can read more about Desert Dingo Racing at their website or by visiting their page on the World Diabetes Day website.
  • How many words do you think you have used trying to describe your life with diabetes? 5,000? 10,000? 100,000? A million? Well a group of diabetes bloggers is attempting to describe their life not with words, but with pictures (and I’m sure their fingers and wrists are very grateful!). It’s called the Diabetes 365 project and it was founded by Beth. Her mission is to capture a moment everyday of her life with diabetes to convey what living with the disease really looks like. Considering this disease is often called the “silent killer,” it’s important to shine a light onto the moments during the day where diabetes isn’t so noticeable. Because as we know, just because you can’t see something does not mean it isn’t there.

Just one more hour of work and then I’m outta here! Where am I heading this fine October weekend? I’m hopping into my little red Ford Focus and driving non-stop (well, maybe once to get dinner and once to get gas) to our nation’s capitol – the home of the White House, pensive looking men in black suits and Jill! We’ll be checking out an exhibit by Annie Leibowitz (feeding my photography obsession) and hopefully doing a little bit of sightseeing as the weather is supposed to be relatively decent.

Catch ya’ll on Monday!

6 Comments
  1. October 19, 2007 5:30 PM

    Have fun in DC! Although we live about a 20 – 30 minute Metro ride outside of the city, we rarely go in. Annie Leibowitz = AMAZING! I hope you have a safe trip.

  2. Allison permalink
    October 19, 2007 10:21 PM

    Definitely let us know how the exhibit is…I work in DC and have been read tons about the exhibit in the Post while riding the Metro. Have a great time!

  3. October 19, 2007 11:02 PM

    Enjoy the exhibit. Sounds like fun. And thanks for the mention of the 365 project. cool! And if you want some funny grammatical mistakes, check out my blog entry from a few days ago:

    http://amyliagrace.blogspot.com/2007/10/chinglish.html

    it’s goot for a laugh.

  4. October 19, 2007 11:02 PM

    That should be “good” for a laugh (there I go with my English mistakes again!)

  5. October 20, 2007 11:26 PM

    I totally want to join NaBloPoMo, even though I know my off-line life in November is super busy, just so I can get a lolcats “Im inur blog readin ur thotz” badge like yours.

  6. October 25, 2007 8:33 PM

    Hey, Allison, thank you so much for mentioning our project! It was my personal project at first, but Bernard was the one with the vision to think others would like to participate and he made the Flickr group. Bernard is awesome!

    Sorry I’m so late posting here, I’m getting caught up on my bloglines🙂

    Lol, the unnecessary “quotation marks” blog is “funny”.

Comments are closed.