Skip to content

One of My Favorite Things

October 17, 2007

After a very calm evening (absolutely no drop or rise at the gym!), my plan for today was to work at our New York office near Times Square, and I managed to oversleep and missed the first train. I quickly dressed and walked over to the train station, and fearful of missing yet another train, I decided to pick up breakfast at Pret A Manger once I got to the city.

At Pret A Manger, I picked up these yogurts, that are mixed in with fruit and granola, are fantastic yummy and at first glance you’d think fantastically high in carbohydrates.

My first one was Honey & Yogurt, which I bought the last time I worked in the city. Judging by the word “honey,” the fact it was probably regular yogurt and had a nice amount of granola, I figured sixty carbs. Boy was I wrong. I crash landed about an hour later. This time, I picked up the Very Berry flavor, which was much larger in size (and price). I assumed that this time I would be more correct with the amount of carbohydrates.

As I sat down, I tested and had dropped from a wake-up reading of 188 mg/dl to 136 mg/dl (shows what a New York commute can do to your system – that’s fifty points!).

An hour and a half later, I was a bit nervous that I had either overbolused or underbolused, so I tested again.

114 mg/dl.

Sweet!

All smuglike, I had a conference call with a graphic design agency and then hopped the F train to meet a friend for lunch. Arriving at Grand Central, I started to feel shaky. Hoping I was just hungry, I went outside and started looking around for where I was supposed to meet my friend. At the same time I realized I was on the wrong side of Grand Central, I realized I was actually low.juicyjuice.jpg

Standing on the corner of 41st and Park Avenue, I whip out my glucose meter and test. 70 mg/dl.

Mental note: Check the damn carb counts on the yogurts before eating another one!

I wonder how many other people have stood on the sidewalk at a busy Manhattan intersection while sipping a Juicy Juice who isn’t, you know, five years old.

In case you are wondering, I did look up the carb counts for the Pret a Manger yogurts. The Honey & Granola yogurt is 35 grams of carbohydrates, and the Very Berry yogurt is 44 grams of carbohydrates.

So yeah. I was a touch off on those guesstimates.

There’s nothing I love more than to think I have bolused absolutely brilliantly only to go low (or in some cases, high).

And by love I mean hate.

2 Comments
  1. October 17, 2007 4:52 PM

    I had one of those dropping faster than you can say “hypoglycaemia” lows today. Carton of juice, some biscuits and many frustrated tears later and I was comfortably up to 5.1 (92) and basically sobbing to my religious studies teacher, something I would never let happen in my ‘normal’ state. Apparently her father is diabetic so she actually noticed what was wrong before I did and offered me a biscuit. I was white as a sheet and shaking and also got a D in the test we were doing at the time. (this is not normal for me.) So that was fun. My RS class mainly don’t know I’m diabetic so I expect they were looking at me about as weirdly as people were looking at you drinking your juice.. I don’t really remember, myself.

  2. October 17, 2007 8:53 PM

    I posted a while back about Blasted Yogurt! I used to love eating yogurt, but have had some issues. Your description of the yogut sounded pretty good, actually, despite the lows. Maybe I’m having a change of heart. Maybe it’s just the French name. Sorry to hear about the low.

    One funny thing about living in Taiwan is how many adults drink out of juice boxes. It’s totally common and very normal to see a 50 year old man drinking tea or juice or any liquid, really, out of a juice box. Funny stuff.

    I hope you had a good lunch with your friend, despite the low.

Comments are closed.