Skip to content

Now Back to Our Regularly Scheduled Programming

October 12, 2007

So, I skipped last week’s Friday Five in favor of a Twitter Five, and the week before that I was stuck at merely Four. This week, however, I have returned with a full list of five things I find interesting and/or bizarre.

  • It’s Friday. You’re at work. You’re churning along with the usual reports, meetings and e-mail. Unless you work for U.S. Cellular, Intel or Deloitte & Touche, in which case, you can strike that e-mail off your to-do list. Why? Because these companies have decided to install a No E-mail Fridays mandate for all their employees. This forces them to call up their colleagues or – gasp! – actually talk to them in person.
  • This photo has been on my To Show Everyone list for a few weeks now. Check out this disgustingly effective ad from Old Spice.
  • Keeping with the photography theme, 3191 is a photoblog by two friends living on opposite sides of the country who take a photograph at every morning and then post the photographs.
  • More Reason Why Oregonians Rock: My (former) governor, Ted Kulongoski, elected a few months back to try to live on the budget allocated by food stamps for one week. That’s $21 per person. Could you eat all your meals and snacks for only $21?
  • Oy, my head hurt. The Australian Herald Sun has posted a test to see whether you are right-brained or left-brained. It is an image of dancer spinning. If you think she is spinning clockwise, you are right-brained. If you see her spinning counterclockwise you are left-brained. If you can see her spinning both ways, you are utterly amazing and please tell me your secret!!! As of this posting, I can only see her going clockwise and it drives me insane that people have said they can see her going the other way. I have no idea how they do it. I am very good at those hidden images you see in posters – it typically only takes me a minute or so to find the image. But my head feels like it’s going to explode after staring at the computer screen for ten minutes. Which way is she spinning for you?
15 Comments
  1. October 12, 2007 12:57 PM

    Um, she’s spinning both ways. One way for a while, then the other way for a while.

  2. kassie permalink
    October 12, 2007 1:31 PM

    both ways. To get her to switch, close your eyes and imagine her spinning the opposite way. Then open your eyes.

  3. October 12, 2007 2:05 PM

    I’m pretty sure that Herald Sun thing is a trick. I definitely saw her spinning both ways, but it looked to me as if the animation actually changed. I tried to watch it longer to see if I could tell for sure, but then my eyes went crossed.

    And that Old Spice ad? ACK!!! Still laughing…

  4. October 12, 2007 2:32 PM

    she’s going clockwise! but I always come out left brained in these things. I’m just going to keep watching for the rest of the evening and see what happens…

  5. Sara permalink
    October 12, 2007 2:33 PM

    I watched for about 30 seconds and she was only spinning clockwise – and I know I am right-brained!

  6. October 12, 2007 3:10 PM

    i couldnt get her to spin clockwise for a while, but i finally took my eyes off the shadow and she spun the other way. But once I focused on the shadow, she spun counter-clockwise again.

  7. October 12, 2007 4:21 PM

    At first I saw her spinning counter clock-wise. But, if I focus on the article beside her and just view her out of the corner of my eye she starts to turn clockwise.

  8. October 12, 2007 4:23 PM

    Ok, now I see her spinning one way and then switching and spinning the other. Is this thing for real?

  9. Allison permalink*
    October 12, 2007 4:35 PM

    I keep going back to it all day long and she’s always spinning clockwise no matter where I stare or close my eyes or spin around in circles or hop on one foot. Ridiculous I tell you….

  10. October 12, 2007 10:10 PM

    I’m with you on this one Allison – no matter what trick I try – that girl is spinning clockwise!

  11. October 14, 2007 3:49 AM

    I can ONLY see her going clockwise. Seriously, it’s driving me NUTS!

  12. October 14, 2007 8:11 AM

    So far she’s only spun clockwise for me. I’m disappointed, I thought I was a right brain person (like Sara).

    Allison, would you like to point our the new diabetes photo project that’s happening on flickr? This one is diabetes365 where each of us is posting one photo a day that’s about life with diabetes.

    The photos are great and we now have about nine photographers contributing. If anyone else would like to get involved we’d welcome them.

  13. Allison permalink*
    October 14, 2007 12:12 PM

    Bernard: If you can see her spinning clockwise, then you are right-brained. If you see her spinning counterclockwise, you are left-brained. So, you are right-brained.🙂

    I will post a link to the Diabetes365 project during next week’s Friday Five.

  14. Lee permalink
    October 14, 2007 12:14 PM

    At first I saw her spinning clockwise, then it seemed as though she turned. Can see her spinning both ways now – switching every few seconds (maybe it is all in my mind!!??)..

  15. October 15, 2007 3:48 PM

    At first I saw her spinning counter-clockwise and then she went clockwise. Now it’s only clockwise. Actually, the figure’s too graphic. I’m having trouble caring about which way she’s spinning.

Comments are closed.