Skip to content

A Little Redecorating

October 4, 2007

Well, after my umpteenth blog template disaster (sometimes I get the feeling I’m not meant for blogs… maybe I should revert back to good old fashioned leaflets!), I decided to pick a new blog template to see if that would make a difference.

I tried out several (if you were on the blog at any point during that you may have seen it change wildly) and I have decided that this is my best option… for now.

It’s not perfect. There are a couple of things that don’t line up quite right (see the background color of this post next to the background color of the “About Allison” header… see what I mean?) and I think the font is far too small, but it’s the best I can do.

I might tinker with a few of the other templates, but I like the ability to incorporate my own photographs into my header. So far all my headers on WordPress have been my own photographs. If you ever see a new header and want to know what it’s of, just go to the bottom of the sidebar where it says “About This Header.” I’ll do my best to remember to update it. At this point, have a customizable header is the most important feature because photography is an important hobby for me. I plan on buying a new, semi-professional camera in the next few months and I might even start a photoblog so I can have space to post photos.

As for the reason why the sidebar went kooky, I think it might have something to do with what is in one of the widgets. When I copied and pasted the text into this new template, the light blue background for the posts disappeared and the whole blog was the medium blue. Weird, huh? Now that I’m slowly pasting in each image, I’m hoping to figure out who the culprit is and maybe switch back to the old template. The investigation continues…

Oh, one more thing! WordPress Stat Counter says I have had 72 views of “Stand and Be Counted!” and yet only 11 people actually posted anything. I’m a little disappointed that there was so little love from the lurkers… so, if you’re a lurker, please comment or you can send me an email if you’re really, really shy. I’d like to hear from anyone who is reading.

6 Comments
  1. October 4, 2007 2:05 PM

    I like the new design allison!

    definitely has that nice cool, breezy, soft feel.

  2. October 4, 2007 2:34 PM

    You KNOW I always read your posts Allison! And I love the picture at the top! Me, I stay satisfied with the minimum on my blog – that way I don’t get into trouble. I wish I had wordpress like you do, but any changes I make have to be EASY!

  3. October 4, 2007 2:56 PM

    I am reading, not commenting too often (reading at work so feeling guilty).

    Love the photo!

  4. October 4, 2007 3:01 PM

    lookin’ good, Allison🙂

  5. October 4, 2007 4:58 PM

    It looks nice and I don’t find the font too small.

  6. October 4, 2007 5:12 PM

    It’s a very comforting template. I like it!

Comments are closed.