Skip to content

T.G.I.F. Link-A-Palooza!

September 28, 2007

It’s been awhile since I’ve sat down and done up a list of my favorite links of the week, but Jill has made a special request, so I decided to get myself into gear and do it!

However, I’m actually in our New York office today and totally didn’t prepare myself for this update. Going off pure memory, I only came up with four – but hey, at least I kept the alliteration going!

Here is The Friday Four:

  • First, a shameless plug for a project I’m working on at work (MWW Group). For months I worked with the consumer account team working on Gardenburger, and two weeks ago we launched a campaign called Real Men Eat Gardenburger with a mission of finding and rewarding a real guy out there who loves Gardenburgers and isn’t afraid to admit it! You can check out the fruits of our labor at the Real Men Eat Gardenburger website or you can check out my personal contribution to the cause by going straight to the Search for America’s Real Man contest page. If you submit yourself or your man, you could win a chance at a new flatscreen TV, a Ducane stainless steel grill, a year’s supply of Gardenburger and a catered party… The people are the voters so don’t think I hold any sway over the results. Have fun!
  • Now, I like to think of myself as a ballsy girl, but a senator from Nebraska has thought up this crazy scheme to sue God to prove that Americans sue over stupid reasons might have gone just a tad too far… Wait a second, did I say might? Ha! I meant totally did! What’s he thinking? I suppose God only knows…
  • A few weeks ago, Steve Jobs posted an apology letter to customers after Apple decided to knock off about $200 off their retail price for the snazzy iPhones three months after going on sale (no, I don’t have one, no, I don’t want one – knowing me and my track record with gadgets, I would probably break it). Well, the folks at Woot decided to have a little laugh at the expense of both Apple and Microsoft by writing up a sarcasm-laden apology letter to customers of Microsoft’s Zune. Larry Stalin, you rock.
  • In more technology news that evokes a “seriously?” reaction from readers, Marie Claire asked femgadget blog Popgadget’s founder what her ideal cell phone would be, called… get this… the ShePhone. Yeah, can I vomit now? Anyway, hop over to Wired’s blog The Underwire to see a full diagram.
3 Comments
  1. September 28, 2007 7:14 PM

    Yes, a name drop! First, Omaid loves Gardenburgers – we’re so doing that contest. Second, don’t you just love Ernie Chambers? I’m so mad that Nebraska implemented term-limits to boot him out of office. Oh Lord…

  2. September 29, 2007 9:03 PM

    So not related to this post – but haven’t heard anything about the D.O.C. New Me Challenge in a while…

  3. Allison permalink*
    September 29, 2007 9:22 PM

    Sara: Yeah, it’s kinda not happening anymore. I’m planning on just giving everyone’s money back. It was poor planning on my part to start something like that during a year that was nothing but upheaval and chaos. I’ll be sending out an email soon.

Comments are closed.