Skip to content

Dreams

September 25, 2007

I remember seeing this conversation awhile ago, I believe on TuDiabetes, about whether or not people dreamt that they were diabetic. Most people said that they weren’t diabetic in their dreams, or at least, they didn’t do anything that diabetic-ish (no testing their blood sugars, no going low, etc.). Sometimes I dream that I am a diabetic, because I’m with my friends with diabetes or I am doing something diabetic-ish, like testing my blood sugar.

But I have had a couple strange things happen in my dreams the last couple weeks and I was just wondering if anyone else has noticed this too.

Last week, I awoke to that awful, cotton-mouth inducing 547 mg/dl. But in my dream, just prior to waking up, I dreamt that I gulping water furiously. It wasn’t that I was high in the dream, I just dreamt that I was drinking a lot of water because I was thirsty.

Then last night, I dreamt that I was shoveling cookies down my throat. Then I woke up to a low blood sugar.

My guess is that my dreams are influenced by my blood sugar. When my body “knew” my blood sugar was rising, I dreamt about drinking water. When my body was going low, I dreamt about eating cookies (and I in fact ate one when I woke up).

Has anyone else had this happen? Or something similar?

I’m just curious to know what kind of impact the rise and fall of blood sugar has on our subconscious and how much people are actually aware of it.

6 Comments
  1. rick permalink
    September 25, 2007 10:11 AM

    In the past few years, I have had dreams about trying to solve some problem with seemingly infinite answers that I rehash over and over in my head. I always wake up low when I have one of these dreams.

  2. September 25, 2007 10:30 AM

    Allison…I’ve had VERY similar dreams. I had a dream once that doctors were yelling at me and someone shaking me. I woke up covered in sweat and shaking. I was low. Strange.

  3. September 25, 2007 11:15 AM

    I don’t have dreams about trying to correct a high or low… I just have very vivid dreams when high or low. Either way, as long as you can wake up and fix the problem is what matters. Sounds like a good alarm system to me!

  4. September 25, 2007 5:30 PM

    I haven’t dreamt about being high. But I have had this happen when I was low. It’s a weird feeling for sure!

  5. September 26, 2007 6:38 PM

    I have this all the time. I’ll dream about looking for food when I’m low, and I’ll dream about going to the bathroom when I’m high. It’s very common for me.

  6. Sara permalink
    September 27, 2007 6:18 PM

    I have terrible, screaming out loud panicky, the monsters are after me nightmares when I have very low blood suger. I also have a dog who wakes me up when I’m low, before the nightmares hit.

Comments are closed.