Skip to content

The Return of the Meme

September 20, 2007

Total Number of Books Owned: I have no idea. Not very many anymore, actually. I sold a couple boxes worth of books right before I moved East. I took the books that I either hadn’t read or couldn’t live without with me to New Jersey (I’d say about a couple dozen) and the books that I absolutely love but didn’t want to bring with me right away are back in Oregon. All schoolbooks and books that I read, liked, but don’t really feel compelled to keep were sold to Powell’s for a nice chunk of change. So I’m starting to rebuild my collection and I welcome recommendations!

Last Book Bought: The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell.

Last Book Read: The Sunday Philosophy Club by Alexander McCall Smith. Which surprisingly enough has nothing to do with Sundays or clubs, though it does mix in some philosophy into an otherwise solid murder mystery.

Five Books That Mean a Lot to You:

1. The Diary of Anne Frank – by Anne Frank. I have read this four times throughout my life. First, as a young, impressionable ten-year-old. Then again at age twelve. Once more at age fourteen, which put me at the same age Anne was in her book (I read it out loud to help me learn to speak with my retainer that I had to wear all day). Finally, at age 16. I still have the same copy. It continues to have so much impact on me and the way that I think of religion, relationships and human nature. If you haven’t read it, you really should.
2. Life of Pi – Yann Martel. Creative and mesmerizing to a fault.
3. Blue Like Jazz and Searching for God Knows What – Don Miller. The first time I ever read something by someone who thinks about Jesus in the same way I do.
4. Cheating Destiny – James Hirsch. The best explanation of living with diabetes that I have ever read.
5. The Phantom Tollbooth – Norton Juster. I have loved to read since before I knew how, but this was the first book that showed me what it felt like to be “sucked in” by a piece of imaginative literature.

Best Five Books You Read in the Past Year:

1. The Sunday Philosophy Club – Alexander McCall Smith.
2. Naked Conversations – Shel Israel and Robert Scoble
3. Man’s Search for Meaning – Viktor Frankl
4. Cheating Destiny: Living with Diabetes, America’s Biggest Epidemic – James S. Hirsch
5. My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult

Honestly, I think this might be all the books I’ve read in the past year… most of my reading was for school (even Man’s Search for Meaning was for school, but I loved it so much I’m counting it as a personal read too).

You know, memes spread like such wildfire in the O.C., I sure hope nobody decides to go jumping off any cliffs…

2 Comments
  1. Gayle permalink
    September 26, 2007 12:57 PM

    Have you read McCall Smith’s other series “No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency”? It’s absolutely perfect. And Anthony Minghella is directing the movie version of the fist book. I can’t wait!! http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/23/movies/23wines.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

  2. Allison permalink*
    September 26, 2007 1:25 PM

    You know, I haven’t, but my grandmother recommended it to me. She’s actually the one who loaned me The Sunday Philosophy Club. I’ll have to read it before the movie comes out. Thanks for the tip!

Comments are closed.