Skip to content

Normal

September 18, 2007

I’m normal.

Well, okay, anyone who knows me knows there’s absolutely nothing normal about me, but my thyroid is normal.

Which would be great if it wasn’t for the fact that I know there is something wrong with me (stop. don’t even say it.) and I would like to know what exactly it is.

Dr. Jersey (not her real name) told me that the results from my ultrasound hadn’t been sent yet, so she’ll give me a call if there are any abnormalities there. But the actual results of the thyroid tests came back completely and utterly normal. Not even a hint of “Hmm… curious…”

Nothing.

It wasn’t a complete waste of an hour, thankfully. Dr. Jersey gave me a new prescription for CBC (complete blood count) and the various anemias – low on iron, low on B12. We also decided I might as well get the usual barrage of diabetes tests out of the way, because I can’t for the life of me remember what I had tested in April. So I’ll have, oh I don’t know, a pint or so of blood sucked out of me to test the anemia, A1C and cholesterol, and whatever else was written on the script.

Dr. Jersey also copied the thyroid results and the letter from my ophthalmologist to take with me to the endocrinologist (that is, when I actually have one). I skimmed the letter and it was fairly predictable… “Allison has a history in insulin-dependent diabetes…” “Allison’s results were…” “Allison shows no signs of diabetic retinopathy at this time…” (yes!).

But at the very end, it says, “Thank you for referring such a nice young woman. I look forward to seeing her in the future.”

That made me smile.

7 Comments
  1. September 18, 2007 9:13 PM

    I’m glad your thyroid results were normal, I think. It would be nice if you had some resolution to your fatigue, but I’m sure you’ll get there. Good luck and hope you’re feeling somewhat better.
    Colleen

  2. Monica permalink
    September 19, 2007 3:05 AM

    Could it be Addison’s Disease (Adrenal Insufficiency)????? Although this autoimmune disease is considerably rare, 1 out of 200 type 1 diabetics will have it.

    Wiki it and here’s a good link also

    addisons.org.uk

  3. Allison permalink*
    September 19, 2007 9:13 AM

    Monica: Thanks for the suggestion. I don’t think it’s Addison’s Disease because the only symptom I have is the fatigue. I do have some back pain, but that’s been a chronic problem I’ve had for over a year. I will definitely keep this in mind though, just in case anything starts to change, now or in the future. I wonder just how many diseases we are more predisposed to because of the diabetes?

  4. Renee permalink
    September 19, 2007 10:05 PM

    Allison:
    I’m sure you’ve been checked by your endo, BUT the combination of anemia and fatigue certainly could be celiac disease. A simple blood test will show if you have antibodies indicative of this autoimmune disease. Unexplained anemia is frequently the ONLY symptom. Other really weird manifestations include canker sores. My daughter used to suffer with them constantly, but since she went gluten-free after her endoscopy revealed celiac almost 4 yrs ago, she’s had NONE….definitely a weird chronic disease…
    regards
    Renee

  5. rubyredgirl permalink
    October 2, 2007 8:23 PM

    HI there,

    your story sounds like me back in 2003 – extreme EXTREME fatigue, back pain, severe anemia, very low b12…..and I was finally diagnosed with celiac disease by my awesome endo. Once I went on the gluten free diet (the only treatment for celiac) all my symptoms went away within about 6 months. Please find a doc who will test you for this. Type 1 Diabetics are highly likely to get celiac. (FYI I’ve had Type since 1994).

    Ruby
    http://rubyredgirl.wordpress.com/

  6. Allison permalink*
    October 2, 2007 8:52 PM

    Ruby: Thanks for your comment. I was actually tested for celiac disease in early 2004 and I didn’t have it. I was also told that it didn’t look like I would be at risk for getting it in the future. I have made some modifications to my diet recently (eating more veggies and quit drinking coffee) and it seems to be helping a bit. I’m still a bit tired, but not as bad as I was. I have had some back pain, as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, but I don’t think the two are related because the timing of the symptoms rarely matched up.

  7. Dawn permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:50 PM

    Hi,

    To start, I wanted to share my story with you to see if it helps. I have something called schmmitt’s syndrome which is Autoimmune Thyroid Disease and Autoimmune Adrenal Disease. It took me five years of hard work to get a positive diagnosis. First, I have severe Hashimoto’s Disease and mild Graves’ Disease (they are both genetic) and Addison’s Disease. Hashi’s and Addison’s put together is called Schmitt’s. On my journey through docs, I’ve had perfect testing most of the time of my standardized thyroid panels BUT i have Hashimoto’s. To confirm Hashimotos’ and Grave, a good endo should run all thyroid antibodies. For you, definitely TPO and TSI antibodies, request them. To move on with my story, My Addison’s Disease was the most serious and easist to fix. But bad if the doc find thyroid prob first and gives you thyroid med, you will get sicker if the adrenals aren’t treated. I had back problems, abdominal pain, IBS, dizziness, heart palpitations, and severe fatigue. Not to mention I craved sugar and carbs at times, over salted everything, and loved lemonade, and I was always anemic despite supplementation. Most of that was easily fixable with medication for Addison’s, I never get tired or dizzy anymore. I hope this helps you. Your answers are out there, you WILL find them, It took 5 straight years, hopefully less for you.
    Huggs

Comments are closed.