Skip to content

We’re Going to Hahvahd, Dahling…

September 5, 2007

First, a word on the driving:

Driving from my town in northern New Jersey to my first stop – Providence, Rhode Island – should have taken approximately three hours and fifteen minutes (which is roughly how long it takes to get from my house in Oregon to Seattle, Washington, if anyone wants a comparison). Everything was going just fine until I hit New Haven. And then: nothing. Literally. At one point, I considered abandoning my car on the side of I-95 and walking to Providence because I thought it would go faster. I’m not entirely sure what convinces people who are driving on a stick-straight two lane freeway that they need to break, but they don’t. At all. My main thought for the hour it took to get from New Haven to the Rhode Island border was:

What the HELL do you people keep breaking for?

Upon arriving to Providence, I thought, Even by West Coast standards, that took frickin’ forever!labordayweekend-002.jpg

Luckily, I am an outsider and thus driving is as much part of the trip as the destination. I mean, I got excited when I saw the sign for Kerri’s hometown and I even took a picture of the sign for Westport (hometown of dLife). Where did you get the idea I was normal?

Arrived at Providence just after 12:00, and I spent the afternoon wandering around the city. Walked through downtown and up past Rhode Island School of Design. Decided to explore a little bit farther before turning around, but lo and behold, I ran into Brown University!

labordayweekend-025.jpgMel arrived in the mid-afternoon and we decided to blow the proverbial popstand and scooted down to Newport, which I didn’t spend nearly enough time in and have already decided is my destination for my next long weekend out of Dodge.

The next day I headed up to Boston, where I stayed in a hostel near Newbury Street. First I got a bit lost (ha, betcha saw that one coming), so I accidentally drove through Bunker Hill and used Mass General to turn around. I spent the afternoon meandering about – walked down Newbury (popping into Newbury Comics and buying an adorable T-shirt from Johnny Cupcake, which then led complete strangers to laugh at me when they saw the name on the box), through the Boston Commons, down and around Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market (the world’s most historic looking tourist trap, if I do say so myself) before crossing the freeway to the North End to see the Old North Church.

Basically, I walked Boston.

On Monday, I added yet another famous O.C. face to my list. Mel and I had the distinguished privilege and honor to have lunch with Bernard (which is pronounced ber-NERD, not bern-ARRRD – he’s Irish, dontcha know). Bernerd picked us up on Newbury Street and drove across the Charles River into Cambridge. After lunch, we made a stop at my sole reason for going to Boston: Peet’s Coffee and Tea – a West Coast coffee chain that can only be found on the East Coast in the Boston area.

Okay, so it wasn’t my sole reason, but it’s on the top five list.

Not only did I get my wonderful Chocolate Mocha Freddo, but I also saw the cutest frickin’ dog ever. Puppies and Peet’s.

img_1512edited2.jpg

We took an unofficial tour of Harvard, wandering past the library and the dorms and the statue of John Harvard. I touched the lucky shoe. I don’t know what makes it lucky, but apparently people like to rub it because it was complete worn down from people touching his foot (you can see in the picture it’s a totally different color!).

img_2194-12.jpg

Parking for 25.5 hours: $45.00.
One night stay in Boston at a hostel: $44.99.
Getting your picture taken with John Harvard and two of your favorite imaginary internet weirdo friends: Priceless

~*~

And I’m sure you’re wondering, Allison, how was pumping your own gas for the first time?

I’m afraid I can’t tell you that. Because I still didn’t do it! It pays to have friends who pump your gas for you.

Twenty-two years and one month, baby. I’m thinking about starting a pool to see when I’ll crack and have to pump my own gas.

12 Comments
  1. September 5, 2007 6:20 PM

    Sounds like you had a great time (except for the drive, of course.)

    Is that a panda bear on your shirt? I just had to ask. I’m like a little kid when I see things with pandas! (Or think I see things with pandas!)

  2. Allison permalink*
    September 5, 2007 7:34 PM

    It is a Panda! This is the shirt I bought:

    http://www.johnnycupcakes.com/shop/panda-white-red-womens

  3. September 5, 2007 8:29 PM

    I know what you mean re: the traffic in Connecticut this weekend, as I went to my parents house in Connecticut and it took twice as long as it usually does! Luckily, the rest and fresh air made up for it (I live in NYC, so even the air in Elizabeth, NJ is fresh by comparison … LOL!). Looking forward to hearing your assessment of the hotels.

  4. September 5, 2007 9:34 PM

    Too funny about the gas! My little sisters have such a hard time when they drive down to see me in CA. The first time they came down, they stopped in a station and just sat there talking when finally someone came up and asked if they were okay…they then realized that they HAD to pump their own gas!

  5. September 6, 2007 12:18 AM

    Thank god you didn’t go to Cheers. No one EVER believes me when I tell them it sucks, that it looks nothing like the show and that you’ll pay $10 to swill luke-warm Bud while standing in a mock-Tudor tourist trap.

    Next time you come up, I’ll pawn off the kids and take you up to Cape Ann. It’s gawjuss.

  6. Allison permalink*
    September 6, 2007 10:57 AM

    Julia, you’re on!

    I actually drove past Cheers when I was getting lost, but my dad warned me against it so I figured driving by it was enough!

  7. September 6, 2007 11:03 AM

    Allison

    I had a lot of fun meeting with both of you. Next time, let’s see if we can get a bigger d-blogger group.

  8. September 6, 2007 5:30 PM

    Thanks for the link to Johnny Cupcake’s. I ordered the Panda Belt. They have a lot of cute stuff!

  9. September 6, 2007 6:30 PM

    How cool to get to meet ber-NERD and Mel!

    Now I keep sitting here trying my best to pronounce out lout “ber-NERD” with my terrible Irish tongue roll leprechaun imitation…

    heheheh

  10. Allison permalink*
    September 6, 2007 9:42 PM

    Bernard, it was great meeting you too! I am planning on coming on Sunday so I will keep you posted. It’s only about 45 minutes from me, so that’s not too far for a day trip.

    Donna, that’s awesome, I hope you like it! Post a picture of you wearing it so I can see it (or email me, either way).

Trackbacks

  1. Return to Beantown. « Lemonade Life
  2. A Sweet Weekend. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.