Skip to content

I’ll Take Door Number Three, Please

September 4, 2007

There are basically only two things you can get when you visit the doctor’s office.

1) Nothing.

2) More doctor’s appointments.

My visit with the doctor this morning was short and sweet and, predictably, not very informative. I expected as much so I wasn’t terribly disappointed. After the usual barrage of questions which continue to enforce my belief that the section on diabetes must have been ripped out of all nursing textbooks, my doctor arrived and we went over my risk factors (family and diabetes) and symptoms (I actually shivered because of the air conditioning).  When she reached around to the front of my throat to feel my glands, I jumped a bit.

“Hm, your thyroid gland does seem to be a bit enlarged,” she said. She felt them again.

“Stop! Stop stop stop,” I pleaded. It wasn’t so much painful as just uncomfortable, almost like how tickling doesn’t really hurt but it doesn’t really feel good either even though you’re laughing. It’s just an odd sensation you’d rather not endure.

I was given a script for lab work to be done (appointment #1) and an ultrasound at a radiologist (appointment #2). Then I went downstairs and made an appointment to see the doctor again in two weeks (appointment #3).

All that on top of another script that says (and I quote): “Please evaluate and treat patient with rx of DM Type I with insulin pump.”  So there, Ms. Receptionist, now I have it in writing!

Coming tomorrow: Bernard, Mel and I go to Harvard.

8 Comments
  1. September 4, 2007 3:20 PM

    I’m about to get my thyroid nuked for the second time. No big deal, just a royal pain to have to deal with – twice! Hopefully if they do it to you it will only take one dose!

  2. September 4, 2007 3:22 PM

    Enlarged = they’re thinking hyperthyroid, right? As in backwards from most T1’s?

  3. Allison permalink*
    September 4, 2007 3:44 PM

    I think enlarged just means abnormal, I don’t necessarily know if it means hyperthyroid. She didn’t say anything specific about it.

  4. September 4, 2007 5:15 PM

    At 18, my thyroid was enlarged – as it was working overtime. I’ve been taking synthroid (or the earlier versions) since then.
    My sister’s thyroid was hyper, so hyper that it was causing her to sleep a lot. They removed over 90% of it. She has just recently been prescribed synthroid, 35+ years after her surgery.
    Glad you saw a doctor and just think, soon you’ll feel so much better!
    Colleen

  5. September 4, 2007 6:27 PM

    Enlarged can also mean hypo. Once in the hospital I had a dr come in the room, not introduce himself and start feeling of my neck. It was the most disrespectful thing I have ever, ever experienced.
    They have to press pretty hard to see if there are any irregularities in the tissue……
    The thyroid regulates so much of the body in so many subtle ways that it cannot go unrecognized.
    Hope they get to the bottom of your problems.

  6. September 4, 2007 6:42 PM

    Everyone else is correct in saying enlarged just means abnormal.

    The diabetes section wasn’t ripped out, just written by monkeys.

  7. September 4, 2007 8:17 PM

    I don’t know that the 50 pages on diabetes in my 3,000 page Med-Surg nursing book were written by monkeys but at a glance, the chapter was not that well organized. Part of it is that because there are so many people with Type 2, nurses tend to have more experience with people with Type 2 and then forget the differences. At least, that’s been what I’ve seen with my fellow nursing collegues that I’ve had to re-educate.

  8. September 5, 2007 2:45 AM

    Written by monkeys! I’ll have to remember that. The most disturbing experiences I’ve had trying to get nurses to understand Type 1 have been at endo’s offices. You’d think they’d have the best chance of getting it, but apparently not. I’m guessing a high turnover rate is involved.

Comments are closed.