Skip to content

Update

August 30, 2007

Briefly:

I have made a doctor’s appointment for Tuesday morning to get a lab referral to have my thyroid levels checked again.

I had my thyroid checked in April at my last doctor’s appointment, and never heard anything so I assumed I was in the clear, but I suppose it’s better to be safe than sorry. No point wandering around, wasting away thinking that I don’t have hypothyroidism just because I didn’t have it April. I mean, that’s the time frame in which I was diagnosed with diabetes, right? Had it one month, didn’t have it the next.

My father and pretty much all female members of his family have an underactive thyroid and coupled with the diabetes makes me a prime candidate for the condition.

Oh the joy of being a diabetic Blass! Double the fun.

I’ve been emailing with my dad all day, and he says I have some, but not all the symptoms so there is really no way of knowing for sure if I have it until I get tested. He also reminded me that when I was born, I stayed in the hospital an extra four days because I had a low heart rate, which apparently is another symptom of hypothyroidism. Even if I don’t have it now, it’s probably just a matter of time before my thyroid gland kicks the bucket too.

Why can’t my body just function like it was designed to do? Is that really so much to ask?

All I really want is to have energy again. It’s really depressing when you start daydreaming about sleeping instead of that cute guy who saved you from the mean old carbon monoxide detector.

3 Comments
  1. August 31, 2007 12:35 AM

    Make sure you have an endocrinologist look at those results. Some of the threshold numbers have changed and a regular GP may not realize that.

    I felt that way shortly after Boo was born. I thought it was just exhaustion from working and having a baby. It was only when I nearly passed out at work that I got it checked. My level was 78. Normal is, like 2 – 5. My doctor didn’t understand how I was still walking around.

  2. deirdre permalink
    August 31, 2007 12:53 AM

    Hey allison! i was just reading through your blog here because i can’t sleep but i was thinking maybe it has something to do with iron levels too? two years ago i all the sudden started feeling really weak and tired and sleepy and it turned out i had half as much iron in my body as i was supposed too and my liver was all out of whack with another illness. anyway hope you find out what it is! be well!

  3. Jen permalink
    September 1, 2007 12:21 AM

    I’m getting my thyroid levels re-checked on monday. I’ve always had very normal levels, right around the 2 mark, until 6 months ago, when it jumped to 4.8. Not abnormal yet, but a big change. Now I’m wondering if my recent fatigue is just from stress like I thought, or maybe it’s something more…
    I wish you luck in your results!

Comments are closed.